America: History and Life 
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
CINAHL Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health 
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 3000 current nursing and health journals.
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 3000 current nursing and health journals.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
JSTOR 
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
MedLine, 1950+
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Public Affairs Index
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.
SocIndex with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
Encyclopedia of American Disability History v.1-3
Print Location: Reference HV1553 E56 2009
Print Location: Reference HV1553 E56 2009
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of Disability v.1-5
Print Location: Reference HV1568 .E528 2006
Print Location: Reference HV1568 .E528 2006
Disability.gov
Disability.gov is the U.S. federal government website for information on disability programs and services nationwide.
Disability.gov is the U.S. federal government website for information on disability programs and services nationwide.
ProQuest Congressional
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
Indexing from 1789 onward; some full text available online after 1980.
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
Indexing from 1789 onward; some full text available online after 1980.
Handbook of Disability Studies
Also available as a print book:
General Collection HV1568.2 .H36 2001
Also available as a print book:
General Collection HV1568.2 .H36 2001
Both sides of the table: autoethnographies of educators learning and teaching with /in disability
Author: Smith, Phil
Imprint: N.Y.: Peter Lang, 2013
Location: Third Floor LC 4031 S68 2013
Author: Smith, Phil
Imprint: N.Y.: Peter Lang, 2013
Location: Third Floor LC 4031 S68 2013
Chang and Eng reconnected: the original Siamese twins in American culture
Author: Wu, Cynthia
Imprint: Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2012
Location: Third Floor PS 217 C63 W8 2012
Author: Wu, Cynthia
Imprint: Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2012
Location: Third Floor PS 217 C63 W8 2012
Disability aesthetics
Author: Stebers, Tobin
Imprint: Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2010
Location: Second Floor HV 1588.2 S535 2010
Author: Stebers, Tobin
Imprint: Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2010
Location: Second Floor HV 1588.2 S535 2010
Disability and the Life Course: Global Perspectives
Editor: Mark Priestley
Imprint: N.Y.: Cambridge University Press, 2001
Location: Second Floor HV 1568 D5673 2001
Editor: Mark Priestley
Imprint: N.Y.: Cambridge University Press, 2001
Location: Second Floor HV 1568 D5673 2001
Disability in Local and Global Worlds
Imprint: Berkeley: University of California Press, 2007.
Location: 2nd Floor HV 1568 D5687 2007
Imprint: Berkeley: University of California Press, 2007.
Location: 2nd Floor HV 1568 D5687 2007
Disability studies and the inclusive classroom: critical practices for creating least restrictive attitudes
Author: Baglieri, Susan
Imprint: N.Y.: Routledge, 2012
Location: LC 4019 B276 2012
Author: Baglieri, Susan
Imprint: N.Y.: Routledge, 2012
Location: LC 4019 B276 2012
My Body Politic
Author: Simi Linton
Imprint: Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2006
Location: Second Floor HV 3013 L56 A3 2006
Author: Simi Linton
Imprint: Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2006
Location: Second Floor HV 3013 L56 A3 2006
One of Us: conjoined Twins and the Future of Normal
Author: Alice Domurat Dreger
Imprint: Cambridge, MA.: Harvard University Press, 2004
Location: Third Floor RG 626 D74 2005
Author: Alice Domurat Dreger
Imprint: Cambridge, MA.: Harvard University Press, 2004
Location: Third Floor RG 626 D74 2005
Replaceable You: Engineering the Body in Postwar America
Author: Serlin, David
Imprint: Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004
Location: 3rd Floor R 856 S457 2004
Author: Serlin, David
Imprint: Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004
Location: 3rd Floor R 856 S457 2004
Rethinking Normalcy: a Disability Studies Reader
Imprint: Toronto: Canadian Scholars Press, 2009.
Location: 2nd Floor HV 1568.2 R48 2009
Imprint: Toronto: Canadian Scholars Press, 2009.
Location: 2nd Floor HV 1568.2 R48 2009
The Story of Beautiful Girl
Author: Rachel Simon
Imprint: N.Y.: Grand Central Publishers, 2012
Location: Third Floor PS 3569 I4845 S78 2012
Author: Rachel Simon
Imprint: N.Y.: Grand Central Publishers, 2012
Location: Third Floor PS 3569 I4845 S78 2012
Too Late to Die Young: Nearly True Tales from a Life
Author: Johnson, Harriet McBryde
Imprint: N.Y.: Picador, 2006
Location: 2nd Floor HV 3013 J65 A3 2005
Author: Johnson, Harriet McBryde
Imprint: N.Y.: Picador, 2006
Location: 2nd Floor HV 3013 J65 A3 2005
Counseling and Therapy in Video 
Counseling and Therapy in Video contains training videos, reenactments, and footage of actual therapy sessions conducted by renowned counseling professionals. This collection of over 2000 streaming videos provides an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
Counseling and Therapy in Video contains training videos, reenactments, and footage of actual therapy sessions conducted by renowned counseling professionals. This collection of over 2000 streaming videos provides an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
Films on Demand 
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Psychotherapy.net
Psychotherapy.net provides training videos in psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. This collections contains 50 streaming videos that cover a variety of tools and techniques from a broad selection of psychotherapeutic approaches, making it an useful resource for the purposes of teaching, training, self-study, and continuing education in mental health-related fields.
Psychotherapy.net provides training videos in psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. This collections contains 50 streaming videos that cover a variety of tools and techniques from a broad selection of psychotherapeutic approaches, making it an useful resource for the purposes of teaching, training, self-study, and continuing education in mental health-related fields.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Disability History Association (DHA)
The Disability History Association (DHA) is an international non-profit organization that promotes the study of disabilities. This includes, but is not limited to, the history of individuals or groups with disabilities, perspectives on disability, representations/ constructions of disability, policy and practice history, teaching, theory, and Disability and related social and civil rights movements.
The Disability History Association (DHA) is an international non-profit organization that promotes the study of disabilities. This includes, but is not limited to, the history of individuals or groups with disabilities, perspectives on disability, representations/ constructions of disability, policy and practice history, teaching, theory, and Disability and related social and civil rights movements.
Disability History Museum
The Disability History Museum aims to provide all site visitors, people with and without disabilities, researchers, teachers and students, with a wide array of tools to help deepen their understanding of human variation and difference, and to expand appreciation of how vital to our common life the experiences of people with disabilities have always been.
The Disability History Museum aims to provide all site visitors, people with and without disabilities, researchers, teachers and students, with a wide array of tools to help deepen their understanding of human variation and difference, and to expand appreciation of how vital to our common life the experiences of people with disabilities have always been.
National Center for Physical Activity and Disability
The National Center for Physical Activity and Disability (NCHPAD) has many helpful factsheets and video clips on their website.
The National Center for Physical Activity and Disability (NCHPAD) has many helpful factsheets and video clips on their website.
Society for Disability Studies
The Society for Disability Studies (SDS) is a scholarly organization that is dedicated to the cause of promoting disability studies as an academic discipline.
The Society for Disability Studies (SDS) is a scholarly organization that is dedicated to the cause of promoting disability studies as an academic discipline.
Janet Romine
Dean of Libraries and Museums
jiromine@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 7418
Book a RAP session with me
- Stop by the Library Service Desk all hours the library is open.
- Call the Reference Department at 660-785-4051.
- Use our Ask-A-Librarian form to email us a question.
- Schedule a RAP session with a librarian for individualized research assistance.
Use either the Virtual Desktop or the VPN to access library database while away from campus.
Click for Directions.
Click for Directions.
For details about what you can checkout, how to renew items, and more... Visit the page linked below:
Below are a few journals devoted to disability studies. Journals in many other subject areas also publish articles on disability issues. To search across many journals at once, use TruSearch or try one of the subject specific databases in the "Articles" section.
Disability Studies Quarterly
Journal of Disability Policy Studies
Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies
Disability Studies Quarterly
Journal of Disability Policy Studies
Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies
= Restricted resource