Archives of the Perspectives of the ASHA Special Interest Groups (SIGs)
The Archive of the Perspectives of the ASHA Special Interest Groups (SIGS) contains full-text of the scholarly research done by all 19 of the American Speech-Hearing Association (ASHA) Special Interest Groups. For most groups the dates included in the archive are 1997-2015. 2016-2019 articles are available full-text through the Issues link. Keyword searching for articles would best be done using the search boxes on the Perspectives of the ASHA Special Interest Groups (SIGS) website or the ASHA database. You must be signed on to the Truman network (either on campus or at home) in order to see the full-text of the articles.
The Archive of the Perspectives of the ASHA Special Interest Groups (SIGS) contains full-text of the scholarly research done by all 19 of the American Speech-Hearing Association (ASHA) Special Interest Groups. For most groups the dates included in the archive are 1997-2015. 2016-2019 articles are available full-text through the Issues link. Keyword searching for articles would best be done using the search boxes on the Perspectives of the ASHA Special Interest Groups (SIGS) website or the ASHA database. You must be signed on to the Truman network (either on campus or at home) in order to see the full-text of the articles.
ASHA Journals (American Speech-Hearing Association)
TruSearch (the big purple search box in the middle of http://library.truman.edu) provides all Truman students with access to the four major ASHA journals from 1993 to present (see specific dates for each journal below). BUT, the student must be signed on to the Truman network (either on campus or at home) in order to see the full-text of the articles.
How to sign-on to the Truman network from off-campus:
To use the library databases from off campus you need to log in with your Truman user name and password at https://view.truman.edu
TruSearch access to the four major ASHA journals is::
Truman also subscribes to the ASHA Full Text Archive from 1991-2015. Again, to get full-text access the student needs to have signed on to the Truman network , https://view.truman.edu, (if they are not members of ASHA).
Pickler Memorial Library also has print for:
TruSearch (the big purple search box in the middle of http://library.truman.edu) provides all Truman students with access to the four major ASHA journals from 1993 to present (see specific dates for each journal below). BUT, the student must be signed on to the Truman network (either on campus or at home) in order to see the full-text of the articles.
How to sign-on to the Truman network from off-campus:
To use the library databases from off campus you need to log in with your Truman user name and password at https://view.truman.edu
TruSearch access to the four major ASHA journals is::
- American Journal of Audiology: 2000-present
- American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology: 2001-present
- Journal of Speech, Language and Hearing Research: 1997-present
- Language, Speech and Hearing Services in Schools: 1993-present
Truman also subscribes to the ASHA Full Text Archive from 1991-2015. Again, to get full-text access the student needs to have signed on to the Truman network , https://view.truman.edu, (if they are not members of ASHA).
Pickler Memorial Library also has print for:
- American Journal of Audiology:(1991-2015) located at Periodicals RF 286 A44
- American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology (1992-2015) located at Periodicals RC 423 A1 A55
- Journal of Speech Language and Hearing Research (1997-2009) located at RC 423 J72
- Language, Speech and Hearing Services in Schools (1971-2009) located at LB 3454 L36
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) 
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
PubMed
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also available as MedLine. GoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also available as MedLine. GoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
Credo Reference 
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Hegde's PocketGuide to Treatment in Speech-Language Pathology.
Print Location: Reference RC 423 H38296 2001
Print Location: Reference RC 423 H38296 2001
MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders.
This encyclopedia is also available in print at Reference RC 423 M56 2004.
This encyclopedia is also available in print at Reference RC 423 M56 2004.
SAGE encyclopedia of human communication sciences and disorders
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders is an in-depth encyclopedia aimed at students interested in interdisciplinary perspectives on human communication - both normal and disordered - across the lifespan.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders is an in-depth encyclopedia aimed at students interested in interdisciplinary perspectives on human communication - both normal and disordered - across the lifespan.
Terminology of Communication Disorders.
Print Location: Reference RC 423 N52 2004
Print Location: Reference RC 423 N52 2004
Master Theses at Truman
Masters' theses written by students at Truman State University (1997+) are available online through Dissertations & Theses at UMI.
To immediately view the first 24 pages of a thesis, click on PREVIEW. To download an entire thesis, click on PDF.
NOTE: Access to full text is restricted to use on the Truman network.
Print copies of Masters' theses written by students at Truman are arranged on the shelves in the library by call number: General Collection LB 1900 K6, then by number in order as they were received. These may be checked out. Additional archival copies are kept in the Library's Special Collections Department.
All Masters' theses are listed in the Library's Catalog. You can search by author, title, and keyword.
Masters' theses written by students at Truman State University (1997+) are available online through Dissertations & Theses at UMI.
To immediately view the first 24 pages of a thesis, click on PREVIEW. To download an entire thesis, click on PDF.
NOTE: Access to full text is restricted to use on the Truman network.
Print copies of Masters' theses written by students at Truman are arranged on the shelves in the library by call number: General Collection LB 1900 K6, then by number in order as they were received. These may be checked out. Additional archival copies are kept in the Library's Special Collections Department.
All Masters' theses are listed in the Library's Catalog. You can search by author, title, and keyword.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Communication Disorders Web Search Engine
ASHA: American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
American Academy of Audiology
Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources---Maintained by the University of Iowa's Hardin Health Science Library. Some sample entries are Neurology, Otolaryngology, and Speech Pathology.
Mayo Clinic - Tools for Healthier Lives
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)---NIH division for biomedical and behavioral research in human communication, which supports and conducts research on the normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, smell, taste, voice, speech, and language.
Search the above web sites using the box below.
Lisa Vincent
Research & Instruction
glaubitz@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 7412
Book a RAP session with me
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Restricted resource
= Video files