Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
America: History and Life
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Art Full Text
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Humanities International Complete
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
MLA Bibliography
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary (now Ebook Central by ProQuest)
A growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
A growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)
Full-text of the British newspapers, The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) from ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Full-text of the British newspapers, The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) from ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
New York Times Article Archives 1851-the present.
Indexes over 15 million articles published in the New York Times from September 1851 to the present. Searching is free, however, you must either use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection or purchase the full-text through the web site.
Users can search for articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range. Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings.
Indexes over 15 million articles published in the New York Times from September 1851 to the present. Searching is free, however, you must either use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection or purchase the full-text through the web site.
Users can search for articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range. Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings.
Readers' Guide Retrospective.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Life Magazine
Print Location: Periodicals AP2 L5469
1936-1972 - Microfilm
1978-200 -Print
Print Location: Periodicals AP2 L5469
1936-1972 - Microfilm
1978-200 -Print
Newsweek
Print Location: Periodicals AP2 .N6772
1933-2012 (print and microfilm)
Print Location: Periodicals AP2 .N6772
1933-2012 (print and microfilm)
America's Historical Newspapers
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers. Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922). Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers. Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922). Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection
Comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
Comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Chrissy Hicks
Research & Instruction
chicks@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4741
Book a RAP session with me
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files