America: History and Life
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.

HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 183 million pages and 283,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.  The database also contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and more.

New York Times - Digital Access
The New York Times membership is free and can be activated online. This membership includes access to archives dating back to 1851, daily 360 content, podcasts, newsletters and nytimes.com/edu which is an education resource website.

Use the link above for details about activating an account. 

Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.

U.S. History Collection
The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.Includes articles from both magazines and scholoarly journals and well as some videos.

World History Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
 

Academic Search Complete

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

SocIndex with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.

Humanities International Complete
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.

AnthroSource
From the American Anthropological Association, full text coverage of 32 journals covering various areas in anthropology.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography on Latin American studies materials by Library of Congress. 

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

War and Terrorism Collection
Containing more than 1.7 million articles, this database provides a global perspective on war and conflict.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture -
Print Location: Reference DS799.23 E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing -
Print Location: Reference D14 .E53 1999

Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures -
Print Location: Reference G63. K874 2007

History in Dispute -
Print Location: Reference D20 H56 2000
Each volume covers a historical period or event and includes debates on related sub-topics.

Examples:
Slavery in the Western Hemisphere, circa 1500-1888

The American Revolution, 1763-1789

Pickler Library Reference Collection -
Print Location: Reference
The library has numerous subject specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources--From Medieval France to the American West and everything in between.

To find one, try a keyword search in the library catalog on your topic with the term encyclopedias:
exploration and encyclopedias

HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 183 million pages and 283,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.  The database also contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and more.

Missouri State Publications Access Program
This is a collection of select publications from agencies throughout Missouri state government contributed by the Missouri State Library. The Missouri State Archives is the official statutory repository for print and electronic Missouri state government publications.

ProQuest Congressional
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.

Indexing from 1789 onward; some full text available online after 1980.

Africa through Western Eyes
Microform Location: Microfilm DT 32.5 A37 1999
This 9 reel set of microfilm is especially strong for Nigeria, Uganda, South Africa, Congo, and Kenya.  Some of the collections featured are:

• 41 notebooks of Cuthbert Christy, the explorer, featuring accounts of his experiences in Nigeria, 1896-1899, in Uganda, 1902-1903, the Congo, 1903-04 & 1912-1916; Calabar & Benin, 1909, East Africa, c 1910, and recording his work for the International Commission of Enquiry looking into slavery in Liberia.
• African diaries of A R H Mann recording a journey in 1935 from London, via Egypt, to the Sudan, Kenya, Uganda, Belgian Congo, French Equatorial Africa, the Cameroons and South Africa.
• Letterbooks and diaries of Sir John Hawley Glover describing the Ashanti campaign, 1873-1874
• 5 volumes of notes concerning the local history, customs and administration of Senegambie
• Reminiscences of Philip Louis Tengely about life in Benin, Accra and Sierra Leone at the turn of the century
• An account of a journey in French West Africa, c 1901, by S Forbes White
• George K Baskerville's manuscript history of missionary activity in Uganda, 1876-1927
• T O Fraser's Boer war diary and Charles du Val's "The News of the Camp", issued during the Siege of Pretoria (the only complete collection)
   

Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)
Full-text of the British newspapers, The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) from ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Provides online access to approximately 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.   

America's Historical Imprints
Digital collection of books, pamphlets, and  broadsides published in America from 1670-1819
Includes:

• Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800;
• Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819;
• Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819

America's Historical Newspapers
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers.  Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922).  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection
Comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

American Religion : Denominational Newspapers
Contains more than 320 historical religious and denominational newspapers from 33 U.S. states published between 1799-1900, including many major denominations. Articles reflect American religion as a dominant cultural and social force, shaping views on slavery, politics, women's suffrage, Prohibition, westward expansion, and other great issues of the day.
 

Archive of Americana
This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.

• America's Historical Imprints 

  Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.

• America's Historical Newspapers 

  Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 1 (2009 ETC); Series 2, 1758-1900; Series 2 (2009 ETC); Series 3, 1829-1922; Series 3 (2009 ETC); Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 4 (2009 ETC) and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.

  • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

    Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement LCP 1670-1800
The Library Company of Philadelphia supplement collection offers nearly 1,000 rare and unique items printed during a 130-year period spanning the colonial era and the formation of the new nation.

Early American Imprints, Series II : Supplement LCP 1801-1819
From the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia comes a broad range of recently uncovered books, pamphlets and broadsides, most of which were not included in Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker's American Bibliography.
Searchable database of digitzed books & pamphlets published during the early part of the 19th century.

English Historical Documents
English Historical Documents Online contains over 5,500 expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents from 500-1914.

Indigenous Peoples. North America
This database allows users to trace the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, and photos. Also features video content from the Bureau of Indian Affairs. 

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
Sources are arranged according to region or theme, eg. Egypt, or Human Origins. Scroll down the column on the left to see if your topic is covered. Try a Ctrl-F and enter a key term to see if it is mentioned on the site.

Internet Classics Archive
Collection of ancient texts, primarily Greek and Latin.

Japanese-American relocation camp newspapers: perspectives on day-to-day life.
Although histories exist about this chapter in American history, this digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of the interned Japanese-Americans. Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English or in dual text. Many of the 25 titles constituting this collection are complete or substantially complete.

New York Times Article Archives 1851-the present.
Indexes over 15 million articles published in the New York Times from September 1851 to the present.  Searching is free, however, you must either use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection or purchase the full-text through the web site.

Users can search for  articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range.  Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings. 

Readers' Guide Retrospective.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.

Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2008
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.

*Note: full text of articles from current issues of The Times are avaialbe in Newspaper Source.

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
This multidisciplinary resource includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, providing research across the humanities both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. Includes both primary and secondary sources.

American Memory
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.

American West

A collection of digitized sources from the the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.  This database contains a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources:

• Papers of early pioneers, explorers and hunters are well represented, including items such as the original manuscript journal and papers of James Audubon.
   
• The evolution of Western towns can be seen through materials such as prospectuses and city directories.

• The growth of railway and road networks can be explored through maps and through records of key railroad companies.

• Emigrants guides, manuscript travel journals, store catalogues, illustrations and maps enable scholars to understand the phenomenon of Westward expansion.

• Accounts of ranches and of the prairie lands document the agricultural transformation of the West.

Avalon Project
Avalon Project provides access to digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government..

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Sponsored jointly by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this site provides select digital access to American newspapers from 1880 to 1910 and from mainly ten states. Additionally, access to an invaluable directory of newspapers published in the United States from 1690 to the present is available. The directory can be browsed by title or searched by state, county and city, date, keyword, frequency, language, or type of newspaper. The directory usually offers comprehensive information, such as titles, alternative titles, publication places, geographic coverage, persistent links, publishers, dates of publication, descriptions, frequencies, languages, subjects, general notes, LCCN, OCLC numbers, succeeding titles, and links to holdings.

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
A collection of basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society. These titles contain information about the democratic process that are critical to informed citizens. They support the public's right to know about the essential activities of their Government.

Defining Gender, 1450-1910

A digitized collection focusing on many aspects of gender, sexuality and culture in Great Britain. The wide range of original sources include ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature. The collections and contextual essays by leading scholars are grouped into these five main themes:

• Conduct and Politeness
• Domesticity & the Family
• Consumption & Leisure
• Education & Sensibility
• The Body

Digital Library - Truman State University
The Truman State University Digital Library features digitized objects from the holdings of the Pickler Memorial Library Special Collections & University Archives. These include manuscripts, photographs, glass slides, vintage sheet music, and other unique and rare items. Please check back as new items and collections will be added on a continuing basis.

Digital National Security Archive

The Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) contains over 80,000 declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. This database is comprised of 35 collections, each focused on a single topic, that contain a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and other secret material.

Early American Imprints, Series II : Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States,this database provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century -- based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker

Eighteenth Century Journals II
A collection  of digitized newspapers and periodicals from the 18th century. Material is drawn from London, Dublin and Edinburgh, as well as many local and provincial publications.
 

Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include:

• Acts by the Parliament de Paris in opposition to the French Court
• The writings of Sir Isaac Newton
• The writings of Corneille and Racine
• Pagan deities
• The waters of Buxton and other spa towns and visits to the Lake District
• Poets of the Romantic Period
• Medicines
• The French Revolution
• Theatrical Performances
• Reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe
• Political debates
• Coffee house gossip and discussion

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History

These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

These open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions.

Making of America - Cornell University
Making of America  is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Making of America at University of Michigan is a counterpart to this collection.
http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/

Pickler Library Microforms Collections

Our Microform Collections are another great place to find primary source material. The list can be viewed alphabetically, by subject and by time period.

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906.
Print Location: Reference AI 3 P7
Early index to articles in published in US and British journals and magazines between 1802-1906.

Truman State University Manuscripts Collection
Many useful primary documents in the Libary are listed on the Special Collections website.

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900.
Print Location: Reference Z2005 H6
A subject and author index to articles published in Britian between 1824-1900 Includes an index for book reviews.

RADAR Method for Evaluating Sources and Websites
An overview of criteria to consider when evaluation web sources for credibiility.

U.S. History in context
U.S. History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. 
Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers. Cross-searchable with World History In Context. 

World History in Context
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.
Cross searchable with U.S. History In Context

National Union Catalog Manuscript Collection, 1959-1993
Print Location: General Collection Z881 A1 N38
Designed as an index to assist in locating and publicizing those repositories which are open to scholars.