Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.

World History Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
 

World History in Context
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.
Cross searchable with U.S. History In Context

Humanities International Complete
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.

EconLit
An index of economic literature including journals, books and working papers.  Four simultaneous users.

Public Affairs Index

A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.

JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Academic Search Complete

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Diversity Studies Collection
This database contains full text articles from over 300 scholarly journals and "cultural interest titles."

MLA Bibliography
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.

International Historical Statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1993
Print Location: Reference HA4675 .M55 1998  

African Studies Companion: A Guide to Information Sources -
Print Location: Reference DT19.8 Z45 2003

Encyclopedia of African History -

This three volume set provides entries on the history of the entire African continent, ranging from the earliest evolution of human beings in Africa to the beginning of the twenty-first century. Includes 99 maps.
Also availalbe in print: Reference DT20 E53 2005

Encyclopedia of African History and Culture.
Print Location: Reference DT3 .P27 2001
Volume 1. Ancient  Africa (prehistory to 500 CE) -- Volume 2. African kingdoms (500 to 1500) -- Volume 3. From conquest to colonialization (1500 to 1850).

Encyclopedia of precolonial Africa : Archaeology, History, Languages, Cultures, and Environments -
Print Location: Reference DT2 .E53 1993

New Encyclopedia of Africa.
Print Location: Reference DT2 .N48 2008
The 5 volume set addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them, like Nigeria, newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict (Sudan, Liberia, Congo).

Peoples of Africa : an Ethnohistorical Dictionary.
Print Location: Reference GN645 .O47 1996
provides a brief description of the more than 1,800 individual African ethnic groups living today in Africa. Where possible, the individual ethnic groups are discussed in terms of their geographical settings, religion, population, and local economy.

Africa through Western Eyes
Microform Location: Microfilm DT 32.5 A37 1999
This 9 reel set of microfilm is especially strong for Nigeria, Uganda, South Africa, Congo, and Kenya.  Some of the collections featured are:

• 41 notebooks of Cuthbert Christy, the explorer, featuring accounts of his experiences in Nigeria, 1896-1899, in Uganda, 1902-1903, the Congo, 1903-04 & 1912-1916; Calabar & Benin, 1909, East Africa, c 1910, and recording his work for the International Commission of Enquiry looking into slavery in Liberia.
• African diaries of A R H Mann recording a journey in 1935 from London, via Egypt, to the Sudan, Kenya, Uganda, Belgian Congo, French Equatorial Africa, the Cameroons and South Africa.
• Letterbooks and diaries of Sir John Hawley Glover describing the Ashanti campaign, 1873-1874
• 5 volumes of notes concerning the local history, customs and administration of Senegambie
• Reminiscences of Philip Louis Tengely about life in Benin, Accra and Sierra Leone at the turn of the century
• An account of a journey in French West Africa, c 1901, by S Forbes White
• George K Baskerville's manuscript history of missionary activity in Uganda, 1876-1927
• T O Fraser's Boer war diary and Charles du Val's "The News of the Camp", issued during the Siege of Pretoria (the only complete collection)
   

British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print -
Print Location: General Collection - varies JX632 - JZ632
Series G, Africa, 1848-1914, General Collection Non-circulating JX632 .B769 1995. Series G, Africa, 1914-1939, General collection Non-circulating JX632 B769 1994.

Church Missionary Society Archive: Africa Missions -
Microform Location: Microfilm BV2500.A2 C58
Contains the papers of the West Africa (Sierra Leone) Mission 1803-1949, the Nigeria - Yoruba Mission papers 1844-1934, Nigeria - Niger 1857-1934, Nigeria - Northern Nigeria 1900-1934 and Nigeria Missions 1935-1949. The other papers included are the Sudan Mission 1905-1949, Egypt 1889-1949, South and East Africa 1836-1949 and East Africa 1875-1949, Mauritius and Madagascar 1856-1929, Persia (Iran) 1875-1949 and Turkish Arabia (Iraq) 1898-1949 and the Mediterranean and Palestine 1811-1949.

Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)
Full-text of the British newspapers, The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) from ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Transatlantic Slave Trade 1595-1866
Database containing information on over 30,000 slaving voyages.

Africa South of the Sahara
Sponsored by Stanford University, with links to all countries and areas including national archives and government resources.

African National Congress
Contains government resources, historical documents, and full texts of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission reports.