Biological Abstracts 
Bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. Covers 1969-2018.
BioOne 
BioOne Complete is BioOne's aggregation of more than 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
BioOne Complete is BioOne's aggregation of more than 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Environmental Studies & Policy Collection
Addresses environmental concerns and research with coverage from more than 300 journals and book reference content.
Addresses environmental concerns and research with coverage from more than 300 journals and book reference content.
Gale in Context : Environmental Studies
Gale in Context : Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR) is an electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
Gale in Context : Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR) is an electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Greenfile
GreenFILE is a welcome addition with its clear message of 'focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.' With the emphasis on the 'connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology,' it is a perfect fit for the liberal arts campus.
GreenFILE is a welcome addition with its clear message of 'focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.' With the emphasis on the 'connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology,' it is a perfect fit for the liberal arts campus.
Invasive Species Compendium
Detailed coverage of invasive species threatening livelihoods and environment worldwide.
Detailed coverage of invasive species threatening livelihoods and environment worldwide.
TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network
An index to several federal publications on toxic substances including: Toxic Literature Online; Hazardous Substances Databank; Toxics Release Inventory; Environmental Health eMaps. From the National Library of Medicine.
An index to several federal publications on toxic substances including: Toxic Literature Online; Hazardous Substances Databank; Toxics Release Inventory; Environmental Health eMaps. From the National Library of Medicine.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
American Environmental Leaders from Colonial Times to the Present.
Print Location: Reference GE 55 B43 2008
Print Location: Reference GE 55 B43 2008
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Envirofacts Data Warehouse
Environmental information from the EPA about waste, water, toxics, air, land, radiation and compliance by zip code, city/county/state abbreviation. Users can generate maps.
Environmental information from the EPA about waste, water, toxics, air, land, radiation and compliance by zip code, city/county/state abbreviation. Users can generate maps.
Food Access Research Atlas
- Presents a spatial overview of food access indicators for low-income and other census tracts using different measures of supermarket accessibility;
- Provides food access data for populations within census tracts; and
- Offers census-tract-level data on food access that can be downloaded for community planning or research purposes.
Global Health Observatory
From World Health Organization. This is a centralized and comprehensive source of information and analyses on global health R & D activities. It includes: communicable diseases; non-communicable disease and mental health; maternal and newborn health; mortality from environmental pollution; child malnutrition; drinking water; sanitation and hygiene; clean household energy; clean cities; substance abuse; road traffic injuries; sexual health; universal health coverage.
From World Health Organization. This is a centralized and comprehensive source of information and analyses on global health R & D activities. It includes: communicable diseases; non-communicable disease and mental health; maternal and newborn health; mortality from environmental pollution; child malnutrition; drinking water; sanitation and hygiene; clean household energy; clean cities; substance abuse; road traffic injuries; sexual health; universal health coverage.
United States Geological Survey Water Data for the Nation
These pages provide access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. Some of the sites have very old data.
These pages provide access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. Some of the sites have very old data.
World Databank
Many databases are included on world social, agricultural and economic conditions from World Bank.
Many databases are included on world social, agricultural and economic conditions from World Bank.
Abbreviations.com
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Dictionary of Agricultural and Environmental Science.
Print Location: Reference S 411 T76 2003
Print Location: Reference S 411 T76 2003
Encyclopedia of Sustainability
Encyclopedia of Sustainability comprises three volumes, each dedicated to one of three equally important contexts in which the term is used: environment and ecology, business and economics, and equity and fairness. Each volume provides authoritative but accessible coverage of basic concepts and terms, as well as policy initiatives, controversies, and future trends. Volumes also include biographical sketches of important contributors to sustainability efforts from the scientific, economic, public policy, and activist realms, plus extensive listings of print and online resources for further exploration.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability comprises three volumes, each dedicated to one of three equally important contexts in which the term is used: environment and ecology, business and economics, and equity and fairness. Each volume provides authoritative but accessible coverage of basic concepts and terms, as well as policy initiatives, controversies, and future trends. Volumes also include biographical sketches of important contributors to sustainability efforts from the scientific, economic, public policy, and activist realms, plus extensive listings of print and online resources for further exploration.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
GPO Catalog of Government Publications
Covers all types of U.S. government documents. Indexes government documents printed by the U.S. Government Printing Office since July 1976; documents include Congressional committee hearings, congressional debates and records, judicial material, documents issued by departments such as Defense, State, Labor, and the Office of the President. Also includes links to Federal agency online resources.
Covers all types of U.S. government documents. Indexes government documents printed by the U.S. Government Printing Office since July 1976; documents include Congressional committee hearings, congressional debates and records, judicial material, documents issued by departments such as Defense, State, Labor, and the Office of the President. Also includes links to Federal agency online resources.
Missouri Department of Conservation
Protects and manages the fish, forest and wildlife resources of the state. Educates the public on resources management activites. Teaches citizens about fish, forests and wildlife resources.
Protects and manages the fish, forest and wildlife resources of the state. Educates the public on resources management activites. Teaches citizens about fish, forests and wildlife resources.
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Deals with the critical area of energy, helps develop mineral resources in an environmentally safe manner, protects Missouri's land, air and water resources and works to preserve the state's historic and natural heritage through state parks and state historic sites.
Deals with the critical area of energy, helps develop mineral resources in an environmentally safe manner, protects Missouri's land, air and water resources and works to preserve the state's historic and natural heritage through state parks and state historic sites.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Environmental Protection Agency's gateway to free print and electronic publications.
Environmental Protection Agency's gateway to free print and electronic publications.
Science.gov 
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Changes In The Human-Monsoon System Of East Asia In The Context Of Global Change
This book is the first in a series of assessments of regional climate change. Irreversible changes to regional biogeochemistry, and terrestrial and marine ecosystem functioning are brought about by increases in population, intensified land use, urbanization, industrialization and economic development. These may have global as well as regional consequences. The objectives of the assessments are, (i) to better understand how human activities in regions are altering regional atmospheric, terrestrial, and marine environments, (ii) to provide a sound scientific basis for sustainable regional development.
This book is the first in a series of assessments of regional climate change. Irreversible changes to regional biogeochemistry, and terrestrial and marine ecosystem functioning are brought about by increases in population, intensified land use, urbanization, industrialization and economic development. These may have global as well as regional consequences. The objectives of the assessments are, (i) to better understand how human activities in regions are altering regional atmospheric, terrestrial, and marine environments, (ii) to provide a sound scientific basis for sustainable regional development.
Economic Growth in Monsoon Asia
Print Location: HC460.5 O86 1987
Print Location: HC460.5 O86 1987
Monsoon Lands of Asia
Print Location: DS10 .R3
Print Location: DS10 .R3
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Dan McGurk
Research & Instruction
dmcgurk@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4528
Book a RAP session with me
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
- How can I access the databases from off-campus?
- How can I avoid plagiarism when I am using ideas and words that are NOT of my own creation in my writing?
- How can I judge whether a periodical is a scholarly journal article or a magazine article?
- How do I use a bibliographic style like MLA, APA or Chicago to cite my bibliographic sources in a research paper?
- GE 70 - GE 90 Environmental Education
- GE 1 - GE 350 Environmental Sciences
- GE 55 Environmentalists Biography
- GE 170 - GE 190 Environmental Policy
- GE 300 - GE 350 Environmental Management
- GE 195 - GE 199 Environmentalism. Green movement
= Restricted resource
= Video files