Academic Search Complete

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank)
Find diverse global, local, regional, and national  perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos,  periodicals, and web-only content.  Also included is Suggested topics - 12 subject categories for topical curricular research 

Kirksville Newspapers
Print Location: Newspapers

The current issue of the Kirksville Daily Express can be found online at: https://www.kirksvilledailyexpress.com/

The library receives current copies of the Kirksville Daily Express.  These copies are kept on the newspaper shelves and folders in the northeast corner of the first floor of the library until the microfilm for that year is received.

A chronology of Adair County Historical items gleaned from Kirksville newspapers, the Selby Index is a selective abstract/index available in the Periodicals Department and Special Collections Department.  Note: this index is selective and not a complete index of the Kirksville newspapers. 

The Special Collections Department also has a clippings file for Kirksville Daily Express articles relating to Truman State University and Adair County.

The following  Kirksville newspapers are available on microfilm in the Microfilm Collection Room on the first floor of the library.

• Kirksville Crier, 1989-1990
• Kirksville Daily Democrat,  August 30, 1915 - October 20, 1915
• Kirksville Daily Express, 1906+
• Kirksville Democrat,  August 24, 1882- December 29, 1914
• Kirksville Evening Journal,  September 2,1891 - December 30, 1891
• Kirksville Journal,  January 3, 1867 - November 16, 1922
• Kirksville Morning News,  January 13,1914 - December 31, 1915
• Kirksville Saturday Mail, 1891-1899
• Kirksville Tattler,  January 23, 1875 - July 27, 1875
• Kirksville Weekly Graphic, 1880-1953 (includes Kirksville Graphic)
• North Missouri Register (includes North Missouri Tribune),  August 25, 1870- September 26, 1879

Microfilm/fiche readers and printers are located on the south side of the Periodicals office.  The library has 11 microfilm readers, 6 microfiche readers, and 6 film/fiche printers available during the library's open hours.  Paper copies from microfilm/fiche are 10 cents a page. The library also has CapturePerfect software which allows the library user to view, scan, digitize and store or print  filmed images from a desktop computer.