SciFinder-n - Chemical Abstracts, 1907-

SciFinder-n, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is the most comprehensive databases for chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records (and other document types), as well as chemical substances and reactions. You can search by topic, author, and substances by name or CAS Registry Number. It's a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines.

You must first register to use SciFinder-n from a device connected to the Truman network and use your truman.edu email address during the registration process.

Click here: SciFinder-n Registration

Already created your account? Go here: https://scifinder-n.cas.org.

SciFinder-n Training

SciFinder-n is not to be used for commercial purposes and only available to the Truman Community.

JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Sigma-Aldrich Catalog Handbook of Fine Chemicals
This is the catalog for chemicals sold by the Aldrich Chemical Company. It is very large.  Each substance has a picture, chemical name, CAS Registry number, molecular formula, some properties, safety information, and some references.

Web Elements
The periodic table of elements.

Kirk-Othmer Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.
Print Location: Reference TP 9 K54 2007
Presents key information from the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 5th ed.  It includes information on the properties, manufacture and uses of chemical and materials; scientific and engineering principles; processes and ane environmental, health and economic concerns.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.
Print Location: Reference TP 9 E685 1992
Articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. Click here for contents.

Merck Index.
Print Location: Reference RS 51 M4 2006
Detailed description of 10,500 chemicals, drugs and biological substances.  Gives chemical name, CAS registry number, molecular formula, physical properties, references, some structure images, derivative compounds, alternate names, therapeutic uses.  There are several special indexes including one for name reactions.

NIOSH Pocket Guide to Hazardous Materials
This tells what to do if someone has been exposed to a hazardous material.  It has first aid, personal protection and sanitation, respiration rates.  It has a topic index and a site search. From the Centers for Disease Control.