Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
SPORTDiscus
Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource Center (SPIRS). Includes over 700,000 records of monographs and journal articles going back as far as 1800.
Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource Center (SPIRS). Includes over 700,000 records of monographs and journal articles going back as far as 1800.
Notable Sports Figures.
Print Location: Reference GV 697 A1 N68 2004
Print Location: Reference GV 697 A1 N68 2004
ESPN Sports Almanac.
Print Location: Reference GV 741 I58 2009
Print Location: Reference GV 741 I58 2009
Statistical Encyclopedia of North American Professional Sports.
Print Location: Reference GV 581 G37 2008
Print Location: Reference GV 581 G37 2008
Abbreviations.com
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport.
Print Location: Reference GV 567 B48 2005
Print Location: Reference GV 567 B48 2005
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Famous First Facts About Sports.
Print Location: Reference GV 571 F73 2001
Print Location: Reference GV 571 F73 2001
Sports Rules Book.
Print Location: Reference GV 731 H85
Print Location: Reference GV 731 H85
The Sports Book: The Games, the Rules, the Tactics, the Techniques
Print Location: General Collection GV 707 S698 2007
Print Location: General Collection GV 707 S698 2007
Films on Demand 
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Sport Science@The Exploratorium
Dan McGurk
Research & Instruction
dmcgurk@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4528
Book a RAP session with me
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Restricted resource