Search the Library Catalog: Keyword (use and/or) Title (omit initial a, an, the) Journal Title (omit initial a, an, the) Author (last name, first name) Subject (person, place, thing) Call Number
search terms:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

When doing academic research, it is important to have some familiarity with publishers and the types of works they produce. Academic or scholarly works such as books (sometimes referred to as monographs), book series, encyclopedias and other reference sources, might be published by university presses, a professional association, or commercial publishers.  The following are examples of academic publishers:

University Presses

• University of Chicago Press
• Oxford University Press
• Truman State University Press
• Cambridge University Press

Commercial Publishers

• Elsevier
• Emerald
• Palgrave MacMillan
• Routledge
• Sage Publications

Publishers of books written for a general audience (non-academic works) include:

• Bantam Books
• Ballantine Books
• HarperCollins
• Penguin Random House
• Simon & Schuster

There are some publishers who produce works for both a general audience ("popular reading") as well as scholarly readership, including Rowman & Littlefield.

SocIndex with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.

Public Affairs Index

A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.

JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

When you first access SocINDEX, it is best to select Advanced Search, as you can immediately apply various limits to your search.  The most useful/important limits would be:  

• scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals
• publication type (periodical)
•  full text.  

Keyword Searching Tips:  Use the Boolean connector AND when you want all terms present in your results; use the Boolean operator OR when you will take either or both of the terms present in your results. Enclose your OR terms within parentheses.  Use the asterisk *  when you want to retrieve variant endings or spellings of a word stem.  For example, sociolog*  will retrieve sociological, sociology, sociologists.

Here is a keyword search example from SocINDEX.  
 
 (work OR employment)
AND role*
AND conflict
AND sociolog*

Results:  With my three limits (scholarly/peer-reviewed, full-text, and periodical), I retrieved 407 articles.  This is still quite a few and you might consider adding another variable, such as AND gender.  

Here are two citations from my results:

Minnotte, Krista Lynn.  "Perceived Discrimination and Work-to-Life Conflict Among Workers in the United States."  Sociological Quarterly.  53.2 (2012):  188-210.  SocINDEX  doi: 10.1111/j.1533-8525.2012.01231.x

Zhao, Jia et al.  "Family-to-Work Conflict:  Gender, Equity and Workplace Policies."  Journal of Comparative Family Studies.  42.5 (2011): 723-738.  SocINDEX   http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=sih&AN=67266957&site=ehost-live
 

Searching in a database such as SocINDEX or others listed above will, of course, retrieve many more results than searching in a specific journal.  If you find you are getting too many results, or they do not seem relevant to your topic, try searching in a specific journal.

The following are peer-reviewed journals that publish scholarly articles related to the sociology of work.   You can access these journals through the database links provided.  You can search within any of these journals for articles on your topic once you access them through the database.  If there is more than one database listed, they likely provide different coverage dates.  Also, the most recent issue of a publication might not contain the full text of an article (there may only be a citation and abstract) provided.  However, you always have the option of requesting the article through Interlibrary Loan.  In most cases, you can complete an interlibrary loan request while still viewing the citation.  

Also, by clicking on the link, you will be able to view a brief description of topics covered in that journal.  

Journal of Labor Research
     Business Source Premier  

Labor Studies Journal
     Business Source Premier

Research in the Sociology of Work
     This title is indexed in SocINDEX (citations & abstracts are provided) but full text is not provided.  

Work and Occupations
     This title is indexed in Academic OneFile (citations & abstracts provided) but full text is only available for 1997-1998.
 

• How can I access the databases from off-campus?
• How do I use a bibliographic style like MLA, APA or Chicago to cite my bibliographic sources in a research paper?