Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ChoiceReviewsOnline
Includes access to entire database of CHOICE reviews published since September 1988, updated monthly. Reviews significant books and resources of interest to those in higher education.
Includes access to entire database of CHOICE reviews published since September 1988, updated monthly. Reviews significant books and resources of interest to those in higher education.
Humanities International Complete
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
Book Review Index
"A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications"
Online version of the print title: Book review index
"A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications"
Online version of the print title: Book review index
Book Review Index.
Print Location: Reference Table A Z1219 B59
1965+
This index is arranged by author and title with abbreviated citations to the reviews. About 450 publications are included.
Print Location: Reference Table A Z1219 B59
1965+
This index is arranged by author and title with abbreviated citations to the reviews. About 450 publications are included.
Children's Literature Review.
Print Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 C5139
Print Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 C5139
Magazines for Libraries .
Print Location: Ref PN 4832 M34
A selective annotated listing by subject of more than 6,950 journals chosen by experts in their fields.
Print Location: Ref PN 4832 M34
A selective annotated listing by subject of more than 6,950 journals chosen by experts in their fields.
Literary/Literature Criticism series .
Print Location: Ref PN 88 through PN 771
The index in the last cumulated volume refers the user to any of the titles in this reference family. It includes information about authors living and dead.
Print Location: Ref PN 88 through PN 771
The index in the last cumulated volume refers the user to any of the titles in this reference family. It includes information about authors living and dead.
Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature 1890-1899.
Print Location: Reference Table B AI3 R479
Book reviews are entered only under the author of the book reviewed.
Print Location: Reference Table B AI3 R479
Book reviews are entered only under the author of the book reviewed.
Poetry Criticism.
Print Location: Ref PN 1010 P6
Provides significant criticism of the world's greatest poets.
Print Location: Ref PN 1010 P6
Provides significant criticism of the world's greatest poets.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906.
Print Location: Reference AI 3 P7
Reviews of fiction, poetry, and drama are entered under the author of the work. Reviews of subject books are entered under the subject.
Print Location: Reference AI 3 P7
Reviews of fiction, poetry, and drama are entered under the author of the work. Reviews of subject books are entered under the subject.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
Print Location: Reference Table B AI3 R48
1890+ In the back of each current issue or annual volume is a section of book review citations arranged alphabetically by author of the book.
Print Location: Reference Table B AI3 R48
1890+ In the back of each current issue or annual volume is a section of book review citations arranged alphabetically by author of the book.
Science Fiction Book Review Index .
Print Location: Ref PN3433.8 H35 1985
An index to more than 13,800 book reviews appearing in over 70 science fiction, fantasy, and general periodicals from 1980-1984 as well as research index featuring the history of, or criticism on science fiction and fantasy literature, television programs, motion pictures, and graphic arts.
Print Location: Ref PN3433.8 H35 1985
An index to more than 13,800 book reviews appearing in over 70 science fiction, fantasy, and general periodicals from 1980-1984 as well as research index featuring the history of, or criticism on science fiction and fantasy literature, television programs, motion pictures, and graphic arts.
Shakespearean Criticism .
Print Location: Ref PR 2965 S43
This resource provides valuable insight into Shakespeare's drama and poetry through "a multiplicity of viewpoints documenting the critical reaction of scholars and commentators from the seventeenth century to the present day."- Preface
Print Location: Ref PR 2965 S43
This resource provides valuable insight into Shakespeare's drama and poetry through "a multiplicity of viewpoints documenting the critical reaction of scholars and commentators from the seventeenth century to the present day."- Preface
Short Story Criticism .
Print Location: Ref PN 3373 S56
This resource concentrates on short story writers of "all eras and nationalities" and includes biographical information, criticisms, and a bibliography of each short story writer.
Print Location: Ref PN 3373 S56
This resource concentrates on short story writers of "all eras and nationalities" and includes biographical information, criticisms, and a bibliography of each short story writer.
Film Review Annual.
Print Location: Ref PN1995 F55
This annual reprints reviews "of full-length films released in major markets in the United States during the course of the year." - Pref. The reviews are arranged by title of film and taken from magazines, journals, and newspapers; the date and page are part of the citation.
Print Location: Ref PN1995 F55
This annual reprints reviews "of full-length films released in major markets in the United States during the course of the year." - Pref. The reviews are arranged by title of film and taken from magazines, journals, and newspapers; the date and page are part of the citation.
Magill's Survey of Cinema .
Print Location: Ref PN 1993.45 M3
The series covers American, British, Canadian, Australian, and other English language films of 1927-1981 (the sound era).
Print Location: Ref PN 1993.45 M3
The series covers American, British, Canadian, Australian, and other English language films of 1927-1981 (the sound era).
New York Times Film Reviews.
Print Location: Ref PN 1995 N4
About 16,000 reviews appear chronologically in the 1913/68 set; these are reprints of the reviews as they appeared in the newspaper. It is published biennially.
Print Location: Ref PN 1995 N4
About 16,000 reviews appear chronologically in the 1913/68 set; these are reprints of the reviews as they appeared in the newspaper. It is published biennially.
New York Times Theater Reviews .
Print Location: Ref PN 2266 N48 1870-2000
The Times has published, in chronological order, the reviews as they appeared in the newspaper beginning with 1870. The historical sets and the biennial volumes have indexes of titles, production companies, and personal names.
Print Location: Ref PN 2266 N48 1870-2000
The Times has published, in chronological order, the reviews as they appeared in the newspaper beginning with 1870. The historical sets and the biennial volumes have indexes of titles, production companies, and personal names.
Variety Film Reviews .
Print Location: Ref PN 1995 V34 1983
The coverage begins with 1907 and includes the reviews as they appeared in Variety. The inclusion of international film festivals is especially strong.
Print Location: Ref PN 1995 V34 1983
The coverage begins with 1907 and includes the reviews as they appeared in Variety. The inclusion of international film festivals is especially strong.
Variety Television Reviews .
Print Location: Ref PN 1992.3 U5 V36
The coverage begins with 1946 and includes the reviews as they appeared in Variety.
Print Location: Ref PN 1992.3 U5 V36
The coverage begins with 1946 and includes the reviews as they appeared in Variety.
Serials Review .
Print Location: Ref PN 4832 S47
Print Location: Ref PN 4832 S47
Internet Scout Project - Archives .
The Scout Report Archives is a searchable and browseable database to over nine years' worth of the Scout Report and subject-specific Scout Reports. It contains 16,969 critical annotations of carefully selected Internet sites and mailing lists.
The Scout Report Archives is a searchable and browseable database to over nine years' worth of the Scout Report and subject-specific Scout Reports. It contains 16,969 critical annotations of carefully selected Internet sites and mailing lists.
Research & Instruction
Librarian
asklib@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4051
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files