Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank)
Find diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos, periodicals, and web-only content. Also included is Suggested topics - 12 subject categories for topical curricular research
Find diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos, periodicals, and web-only content. Also included is Suggested topics - 12 subject categories for topical curricular research
America: History and Life
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
EBSCOHost
A large collection of article databases reaching across all disciplines. Includes both scholary and popular journals, many with full text available. From the main listing that comes up, choose to search any of the listed databases or search in two or more. Databases include Academic Search Elite, Business Source Premiere, America: History and Life, and Communication and Mass Media Complete.
A large collection of article databases reaching across all disciplines. Includes both scholary and popular journals, many with full text available. From the main listing that comes up, choose to search any of the listed databases or search in two or more. Databases include Academic Search Elite, Business Source Premiere, America: History and Life, and Communication and Mass Media Complete.
EconLit
An index of economic literature including journals, books and working papers. Four simultaneous users.
An index of economic literature including journals, books and working papers. Four simultaneous users.
Global Issues In Context
A database designed to support global awareness. Authoritative content empowers learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
A database designed to support global awareness. Authoritative content empowers learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 183 million pages and 283,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. The database also contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and more.
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 183 million pages and 283,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. The database also contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and more.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
LegalTrac
LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Public Affairs Index
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.
SocIndex with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
Data @ NBER - the National Bureau of Economic Research
Listing of sources from the Public Use Data Archive link in the NBER Working Papers database.
Listing of sources from the Public Use Data Archive link in the NBER Working Papers database.
Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Data.gov includes searchable catalogs that provide access to "raw" datasets and various tools. In the "raw" data catalog, you may access data in XML, Text/CSV, KML/KMZ, Feeds, XLS, or ESRI Shapefile formats. The catalog of tools links you to sites that include data mining and extraction tools and widgets. Datasets and tools available on Data.gov are searchable by category, agency, keyword, and/or data format.
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Data.gov includes searchable catalogs that provide access to "raw" datasets and various tools. In the "raw" data catalog, you may access data in XML, Text/CSV, KML/KMZ, Feeds, XLS, or ESRI Shapefile formats. The catalog of tools links you to sites that include data mining and extraction tools and widgets. Datasets and tools available on Data.gov are searchable by category, agency, keyword, and/or data format.
FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
FRED is a database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series, including price indexes, interest rates, exchange rates, monetary indicators and more. With FRED® you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.
FRED is a database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series, including price indexes, interest rates, exchange rates, monetary indicators and more. With FRED® you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics
Economic and social statistics of the countries in the world, collected by the United Nations.
Economic and social statistics of the countries in the world, collected by the United Nations.
Statista
A statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies. Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
A statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies. Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census offers numerous sources regarding population, income and housing. One of the most useful areas will be the American Factfinder. You can look at the population and spending patterns by state, county, city, or zip code.
The Census offers numerous sources regarding population, income and housing. One of the most useful areas will be the American Factfinder. You can look at the population and spending patterns by state, county, city, or zip code.
UN Data
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of the European Union
Provides in-depth, authoritative discussions of the key concepts, developments, institutions, policies, negotiations, treaties, national interests, personalities, etc., related to European integration. The more than seven hundred easily accessible entries, written by internationally recognized scholars, cover virtually every aspect of the European Union.
Provides in-depth, authoritative discussions of the key concepts, developments, institutions, policies, negotiations, treaties, national interests, personalities, etc., related to European integration. The more than seven hundred easily accessible entries, written by internationally recognized scholars, cover virtually every aspect of the European Union.
GALE EBOOKS
Online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies and guidebooks, organized by subject area
Online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies and guidebooks, organized by subject area
Budget of the United States Government
Collection of documents relating to each annual federal budget, going back to 1996. Includes the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Different sets of related publications and supporting materials are included from year to year.
Collection of documents relating to each annual federal budget, going back to 1996. Includes the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Different sets of related publications and supporting materials are included from year to year.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
The finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index
Print Location: Ref KF 40 C57
Multi-part index of Congressional hearings from 1833 to 1969, divided according to time periods. Each set lists hearings by number and indicates the CIS access information for locating that hearing on microfiche. Indexing is also available by bill name and by organization or agency. A numerical listing of bill numbers lists hearings held on that bill.
Print Location: Ref KF 40 C57
Multi-part index of Congressional hearings from 1833 to 1969, divided according to time periods. Each set lists hearings by number and indicates the CIS access information for locating that hearing on microfiche. Indexing is also available by bill name and by organization or agency. A numerical listing of bill numbers lists hearings held on that bill.
CIS U.S. Serial Set Index
Print Location: REF Z 1223 .Z9 C65 1975
Index of Congressional documents other than hearings, including committee reports, prints, American state papers, veto messages, and State of the Union addresses. Organized chronologically by Congress in 15 volumes.
Print Location: REF Z 1223 .Z9 C65 1975
Index of Congressional documents other than hearings, including committee reports, prints, American state papers, veto messages, and State of the Union addresses. Organized chronologically by Congress in 15 volumes.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
The official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Congress and the Nation
Print Location: REF JK 1 .C662
Gives overviews of legislative initiatives in Congress and any Public Law (P. L.) numbers associated with them. The material is broken down into major subject areas (Economic Policy, National Security Labor, Natural Resources, etc.) and then into more specific subtopics. The information is presented in narrative form with chronologies and descriptions of important legislative initiatives. Each volume covers approximately five years of Congressional activity.
See an example of searching in Congress and the Nation.
Print Location: REF JK 1 .C662
Gives overviews of legislative initiatives in Congress and any Public Law (P. L.) numbers associated with them. The material is broken down into major subject areas (Economic Policy, National Security Labor, Natural Resources, etc.) and then into more specific subtopics. The information is presented in narrative form with chronologies and descriptions of important legislative initiatives. Each volume covers approximately five years of Congressional activity.
See an example of searching in Congress and the Nation.
Congress.gov
Information on the United States Congress including bills, reports, committee rosters, Congressional Record (from 1989 onward)
Information on the United States Congress including bills, reports, committee rosters, Congressional Record (from 1989 onward)
Economic Report of the President
An overview of the president's budget policies and economic outlook for a given year.
An overview of the president's budget policies and economic outlook for a given year.
Federal Government Resources: Judicial Branch
Extensive information and links on the federal court system, provided by the University of Michigan Documents Center.
Extensive information and links on the federal court system, provided by the University of Michigan Documents Center.
Federal Statutes, Codes and Regulations
Full text of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (the implementation of laws by federal agencies), the Federal Register (proposed rules and regulations of the various governmental bureaus and departments, Presidential proclamations and executive orders, and decisions of fact-finding bodies), the U.S. Constitution and the U.S. Statutes at Large.
Full text of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (the implementation of laws by federal agencies), the Federal Register (proposed rules and regulations of the various governmental bureaus and departments, Presidential proclamations and executive orders, and decisions of fact-finding bodies), the U.S. Constitution and the U.S. Statutes at Large.
GAO (U.S. Government Accountability Office)
Testimony and reports on a variety of topics from the investigative arm of Congress.
Testimony and reports on a variety of topics from the investigative arm of Congress.
Government Documents Guide
Listing of sites relating to government at all levels. Categories include executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Federal government, historical documents, Missouri documents, and United Nations and European Union.
Listing of sites relating to government at all levels. Categories include executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Federal government, historical documents, Missouri documents, and United Nations and European Union.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 183 million pages and 283,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. The database also contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and more.
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 183 million pages and 283,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. The database also contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and more.
Pro-And-Con
Searchable database of the articles appearing in the Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates.
Searchable database of the articles appearing in the Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates.
ProQuest Congressional
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
Indexing from 1789 onward; some full text available online after 1980.
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
Indexing from 1789 onward; some full text available online after 1980.
Public Papers of the Presidents, 1991+
Each Public Papers volume contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events. In instances when the release date differs from the date of the document itself, that fact is shown in the textnote.
Each Public Papers volume contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events. In instances when the release date differs from the date of the document itself, that fact is shown in the textnote.
U.S. Government Printing Office - Govinfo.gov
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office for finding government publications on the Internet.
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office for finding government publications on the Internet.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, 1993+
Complete listing of presdiential statements and writings for any given week. Can be browsed or searched by keyword.
Complete listing of presdiential statements and writings for any given week. Can be browsed or searched by keyword.
White House
Official site listing up-to-the-minute information on the President's schedule, travel, speeches, document signings, and press releases. Also contains link to Cabinet departments and information n current federal issues.
Official site listing up-to-the-minute information on the President's schedule, travel, speeches, document signings, and press releases. Also contains link to Cabinet departments and information n current federal issues.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
America's Historical Newspapers
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers. Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922). Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers. Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922). Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
Digital National Security Archive
The Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) contains over 80,000 declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. This database is comprised of 35 collections, each focused on a single topic, that contain a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and other secret material.
CQ Researcher (1991-current year).
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, such as health care reform, immigration, school safety etc.. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include:
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, such as health care reform, immigration, school safety etc.. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include:
- Topic overview
- Historical background
- Pro/con feature
- Resources for additional research
Homeland Security Digital Database
Collection of homeland security policy, strategy and organizational documents.
Collection of homeland security policy, strategy and organizational documents.
Opposing Viewpoints
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.
Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example: "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of the Opposing Viewpoint Series.
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.
Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example: "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of the Opposing Viewpoint Series.
Public Papers of the Presidents, 1929 - 2005 (Print)
Print Location: J 80 A283
Papers and speeches from presidents beginning with Herbert Hoover.
Print Location: J 80 A283
Papers and speeches from presidents beginning with Herbert Hoover.
Public Agenda
A nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research organization. The Issue Guides are on a variety of broad topics and include background information, public opinion analysis, and additional resources for research. The Research Studies analyze public opinion and poll results on specific topics.
A nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research organization. The Issue Guides are on a variety of broad topics and include background information, public opinion analysis, and additional resources for research. The Research Studies analyze public opinion and poll results on specific topics.
Dan McGurk
Research & Instruction
dmcgurk@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4528
Book a RAP session with me
= Video files
= Audio files