Opposing Viewpoints 
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.
Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example: "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of the Opposing Viewpoint Series.
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.
Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example: "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of the Opposing Viewpoint Series.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
Contemporary World Issues -
Print Location: Location & Call Numbers vary - check link below
Each volume in this series considers a particular topic. You can find a complete list here.
To find books in the series on a specific topic, try a keyword search in the Library Catalog, using the terms contemporary world issues and your topic.
Example: "contemporary world issues" and pornography
Print Location: Location & Call Numbers vary - check link below
Each volume in this series considers a particular topic. You can find a complete list here.
To find books in the series on a specific topic, try a keyword search in the Library Catalog, using the terms contemporary world issues and your topic.
Example: "contemporary world issues" and pornography
CQ Researcher (1991-current year).
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, such as health care reform, immigration, school safety etc.. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include:
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, such as health care reform, immigration, school safety etc.. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include:
- Topic overview
- Historical background
- Pro/con feature
- Resources for additional research
History in Dispute -
Print Location: Reference D20 H56 2000
Each volume covers a historical period or event and includes debates on related sub-topics.
Examples:
Slavery in the Western Hemisphere, circa 1500-1888
The American Revolution, 1763-1789
Print Location: Reference D20 H56 2000
Each volume covers a historical period or event and includes debates on related sub-topics.
Examples:
Slavery in the Western Hemisphere, circa 1500-1888
The American Revolution, 1763-1789
Films on Demand 
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
EveryCRSReport.com
Reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS) on topics of current interest.
Reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS) on topics of current interest.
Idea
From the International Debate Education Association this online debate topic database has arguments for and against hundreds of debating topics, written by expert debaters, judges and coaches. Also included are background summaries, links to web sites of interest and recommended books, example motions and user comments. Users can search for topics by theme, keyword,or browse the complete topic list.
From the International Debate Education Association this online debate topic database has arguments for and against hundreds of debating topics, written by expert debaters, judges and coaches. Also included are background summaries, links to web sites of interest and recommended books, example motions and user comments. Users can search for topics by theme, keyword,or browse the complete topic list.
Public Agenda
A nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research organization. The Issue Guides are on a variety of broad topics and include background information, public opinion analysis, and additional resources for research. The Research Studies analyze public opinion and poll results on specific topics.
A nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research organization. The Issue Guides are on a variety of broad topics and include background information, public opinion analysis, and additional resources for research. The Research Studies analyze public opinion and poll results on specific topics.
Dan McGurk
Research & Instruction
dmcgurk@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4528
Book a RAP session with me
= Restricted resource
= OpenURL enabled
= Images