arXiv.com Preprints 
Open access to pre-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. From Cornell University.
Open access to pre-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. From Cornell University.
Astrophysics Data System
The ADS is for anyone working in cosomology, astrophysics, and related disciplines — and it mirrors content from the arXiv. It is used to locate articles, gray literature, and other content. When you search, the tools and filters allow you to drill down to what you want — be it a set of papers related to a specific data archive or on a specific topic (see the concept cloud under the EXPLORE drop-down menu). Documentation on advanced search is available on the ADS help page.
The ADS is for anyone working in cosomology, astrophysics, and related disciplines — and it mirrors content from the arXiv. It is used to locate articles, gray literature, and other content. When you search, the tools and filters allow you to drill down to what you want — be it a set of papers related to a specific data archive or on a specific topic (see the concept cloud under the EXPLORE drop-down menu). Documentation on advanced search is available on the ADS help page.
Energy Citations Database
2.6 million science research citations 1943+ Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
2.6 million science research citations 1943+ Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
JSTOR 
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Physical Review Online Archive 1893+
A full text archive of articles from Physical Review A-E, Physical Review Letters and Reviews of Modern Physics.
A full text archive of articles from Physical Review A-E, Physical Review Letters and Reviews of Modern Physics.
Physics
What is Physics? Physics provides daily online-only news and commentary about a selection of papers from the Physical Review Journals. The website is aimed at the reader who wants tokeep up with highlights of physics research with explanations that don't rely on jargon and technical detail.
What is Physics? Physics provides daily online-only news and commentary about a selection of papers from the Physical Review Journals. The website is aimed at the reader who wants tokeep up with highlights of physics research with explanations that don't rely on jargon and technical detail.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a website which provides subscription-based access to a large database of scientific and medical research published by Elsevier. Truman has a very small number of the titles published by Elsevier. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities. Article abstracts are freely available, but access to their full texts (in PDF and, for newer publications, also HTML) generally requires a subscription or pay-per-view purchase. These articles can also be requested on Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
ScienceDirect is a website which provides subscription-based access to a large database of scientific and medical research published by Elsevier. Truman has a very small number of the titles published by Elsevier. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities. Article abstracts are freely available, but access to their full texts (in PDF and, for newer publications, also HTML) generally requires a subscription or pay-per-view purchase. These articles can also be requested on Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
An archive of more than 80 citations of women who contributed to physics in the 20th century created by the UCLA Department of Physics.
An archive of more than 80 citations of women who contributed to physics in the 20th century created by the UCLA Department of Physics.
Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Print Location: Reference QD 65 H3 Ed.89 2008/09
Many tables of information. Includes conversion factors, laboratory safety, geology, astronomy and pure mathematics.
Print Location: Reference QD 65 H3 Ed.89 2008/09
Many tables of information. Includes conversion factors, laboratory safety, geology, astronomy and pure mathematics.
Fundamental Physical Constants
This National Institute of Standards and Technology Web site offers values for physics constants, conversion factors for energy equivalents, a searchable bibliography of physics constants, and background information on constants.
This National Institute of Standards and Technology Web site offers values for physics constants, conversion factors for energy equivalents, a searchable bibliography of physics constants, and background information on constants.
Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics Handbook.
Print Location: Reference QC 173 A827 1996
A ready reference that covers the key ideas, techniques, formulas and results of atomic, molecular and optical physics.
Print Location: Reference QC 173 A827 1996
A ready reference that covers the key ideas, techniques, formulas and results of atomic, molecular and optical physics.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science.gov 
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Films on Demand 
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Stephen Wynn
Associate Dean of Libraries for Technical Services
swynn@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4535
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Restricted resource
= OpenURL enabled