Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
America: History and Life
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
EconLit
An index of economic literature including journals, books and working papers. Four simultaneous users.
An index of economic literature including journals, books and working papers. Four simultaneous users.
Global Issues In Context
A database designed to support global awareness. Authoritative content empowers learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
A database designed to support global awareness. Authoritative content empowers learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Public Affairs Index
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.
SocIndex with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
UN Data
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics
Economic and social statistics of the countries in the world, collected by the United Nations.
Economic and social statistics of the countries in the world, collected by the United Nations.
Statista
A statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies. Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
A statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies. Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Congress.gov
Information on the United States Congress including bills, reports, committee rosters, Congressional Record (from 1989 onward)
Information on the United States Congress including bills, reports, committee rosters, Congressional Record (from 1989 onward)
Government Documents Guide
Listing of sites relating to government at all levels. Categories include executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Federal government, historical documents, Missouri documents, and United Nations and European Union.
Listing of sites relating to government at all levels. Categories include executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Federal government, historical documents, Missouri documents, and United Nations and European Union.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 183 million pages and 283,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. The database also contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and more.
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 183 million pages and 283,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. The database also contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and more.
U.S. Government Printing Office - Govinfo.gov
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office for finding government publications on the Internet.
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office for finding government publications on the Internet.
GAO (U.S. Government Accountability Office)
Testimony and reports on a variety of topics from the investigative arm of Congress.
Testimony and reports on a variety of topics from the investigative arm of Congress.
ProQuest Congressional
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
Indexing from 1789 onward; some full text available online after 1980.
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
Indexing from 1789 onward; some full text available online after 1980.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, 1993+
Complete listing of presdiential statements and writings for any given week. Can be browsed or searched by keyword.
Complete listing of presdiential statements and writings for any given week. Can be browsed or searched by keyword.
Homeland Security Digital Database
Collection of homeland security policy, strategy and organizational documents.
Collection of homeland security policy, strategy and organizational documents.
Opposing Viewpoints
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.
Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example: "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of the Opposing Viewpoint Series.
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.
Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example: "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of the Opposing Viewpoint Series.
Public Agenda
A nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research organization. The Issue Guides are on a variety of broad topics and include background information, public opinion analysis, and additional resources for research. The Research Studies analyze public opinion and poll results on specific topics.
A nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research organization. The Issue Guides are on a variety of broad topics and include background information, public opinion analysis, and additional resources for research. The Research Studies analyze public opinion and poll results on specific topics.
Dan McGurk
Research & Instruction
dmcgurk@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4528
Book a RAP session with me
RAP Sessions
- Provide one-one assistance for research assignments with a Research & Instruction librarian.
- Help you find appropriate sources of information (databases, print sources) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Show you search techniques, including identifying relevant subject headings and limit functions.
- Help you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan services.
- Use the Request Form
- Contact a subject librarian directly
- Send an e-mail to Ask-A-Librarian
- Call Research & Instruction at 785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk, first floor of Pickler Library