The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) hosts several bioinformatic databases as well as analytical resources. These are but a few of the more popular databases; for a full listing, explore the NCBI site. There is also a YouTube channel with a variety of training materials for using NCBI resources.
Ensembl 
hosts several genomic databases and resources for comparative genomics, variation, gene regulation and epigenetics. Browse through over eighty genomes, from alpacas through zebrafish. Ensembl also provides tools for identifying phenotypic effects of genetic variants and comparing your data with known genomic variation.
UCSC Genome Browser
provides an interactive interface for navigating several sources of genomic information including sequence variation, epigenetic modifications, and transcription factor binding sites. In addition to the genomes of several model organisms, the UCSC Genome Browser also has annotated genomes of many other species, including those of naked mole-rats, the Ebola virus, and over ten species of fruit flies.
Variation Viewer
allows you to search the human genome and visualize known genomic variants. The viewer integrates data from several genetic databases, including Gene, dbSNP, and dbVar. The viewer also includes information on medical genetics and gene expression. You can even use the Variation Viewer to compare your own data to what is already known about genetic variation and gene expression.
hosts several genomic databases and resources for comparative genomics, variation, gene regulation and epigenetics. Browse through over eighty genomes, from alpacas through zebrafish. Ensembl also provides tools for identifying phenotypic effects of genetic variants and comparing your data with known genomic variation.
UCSC Genome Browser
provides an interactive interface for navigating several sources of genomic information including sequence variation, epigenetic modifications, and transcription factor binding sites. In addition to the genomes of several model organisms, the UCSC Genome Browser also has annotated genomes of many other species, including those of naked mole-rats, the Ebola virus, and over ten species of fruit flies.
Variation Viewer
allows you to search the human genome and visualize known genomic variants. The viewer integrates data from several genetic databases, including Gene, dbSNP, and dbVar. The viewer also includes information on medical genetics and gene expression. You can even use the Variation Viewer to compare your own data to what is already known about genetic variation and gene expression.
1000 Genomes Browser
is an interactive graphical viewer that allows users to explore variant calls, genotype calls and supporting evidence (such as aligned sequence reads) that have been produced by the 1000 Genomes Project.
BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool)
a user-friendly database, BLAST finds regions of similarity between biological sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance.
ClinVar
is a public, tracked record of reported relationships between human genetic variation and observed health status with supporting evidence. All records include a review status of the evidence for given clinical assertions and links to original research.
E-Utilities
an API that provides progammatic access to several NCBI databases, including PubMed, Genome, Nucleotide, and dbSNP. EDirect offers UNIX command-line utilities for automating E-Utilities queries and processing results.
Gene
contains curated information about genes from a variety of species. Records include nomenclature, chromosomal location, gene products, phenotypes and links to citations and external databases.
Gene Expression Omnibus
is a public functional genomics data repository of curated gene expression profiles. The related tool GEO2R, can be used to perform differential expression analysis on GEO Series.
Genetic Testing Registry
houses information on genetic tests and laboratories, including single-gene tests as well as arrays, panels, and pharmacogenetic tests.
MedGen
organizes information related to human medical genetics, such as attributes of conditions with a genetic contribution. You can use the database to search for relationships between medical conditions and specific genes.
Nucleotide
a collection of sequences from several sources, including GeneBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery.
Sequence Read Archive
is NIH's primary archive of high-throughput sequencing data from a variety of sequencing platforms, including Roche 454, Illumina, ABI and PacBio.
is an interactive graphical viewer that allows users to explore variant calls, genotype calls and supporting evidence (such as aligned sequence reads) that have been produced by the 1000 Genomes Project.
BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool)
a user-friendly database, BLAST finds regions of similarity between biological sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance.
ClinVar
is a public, tracked record of reported relationships between human genetic variation and observed health status with supporting evidence. All records include a review status of the evidence for given clinical assertions and links to original research.
E-Utilities
an API that provides progammatic access to several NCBI databases, including PubMed, Genome, Nucleotide, and dbSNP. EDirect offers UNIX command-line utilities for automating E-Utilities queries and processing results.
Gene
contains curated information about genes from a variety of species. Records include nomenclature, chromosomal location, gene products, phenotypes and links to citations and external databases.
Gene Expression Omnibus
is a public functional genomics data repository of curated gene expression profiles. The related tool GEO2R, can be used to perform differential expression analysis on GEO Series.
Genetic Testing Registry
houses information on genetic tests and laboratories, including single-gene tests as well as arrays, panels, and pharmacogenetic tests.
MedGen
organizes information related to human medical genetics, such as attributes of conditions with a genetic contribution. You can use the database to search for relationships between medical conditions and specific genes.
Nucleotide
a collection of sequences from several sources, including GeneBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery.
Sequence Read Archive
is NIH's primary archive of high-throughput sequencing data from a variety of sequencing platforms, including Roche 454, Illumina, ABI and PacBio.
Dan McGurk
Research & Instruction
dmcgurk@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4528
Book a RAP session with me
This guide was created by Jeffrey Oliver of the Office of Digital Innovation and Stewardship at the University Libraries of the University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ. 85721 Phone: 520-626-9215
It is being used here with his permission.
It is being used here with his permission.
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Images
= Video files
= Audio files