CAIRSS for Music
From the Institute for Music Research, a bibliographic index containing ciations to articles covering music therapy, music education, music psychology, and music medicine.
From the Institute for Music Research, a bibliographic index containing ciations to articles covering music therapy, music education, music psychology, and music medicine.
Fine Arts & Music Collection 
"Periodical Collection Supporting Research in Fine Arts and Music" Over 400 periodicals included.
"Periodical Collection Supporting Research in Fine Arts and Music" Over 400 periodicals included.
IPA Source
"IPA Source is the largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. . .over 11875 titles." (from IPA Source home page)
"IPA Source is the largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. . .over 11875 titles." (from IPA Source home page)
JSTOR 
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Published by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, New York. Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, commentaries, conference proceedings, dissertations, festschriften, reviews, internet resources, motion pictures, sound recordings and technical drawings of musical instruments are all covered. Contains records in over 200 languages.
Published by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, New York. Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, commentaries, conference proceedings, dissertations, festschriften, reviews, internet resources, motion pictures, sound recordings and technical drawings of musical instruments are all covered. Contains records in over 200 languages.
Rock's Back Pages
Archive of reviews, interviews, and feature stories on current and past rock musicians from major music publications.
Archive of reviews, interviews, and feature stories on current and past rock musicians from major music publications.
Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Humanities International Complete
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Project MUSE
Full-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection. There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches.
Full-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection. There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians.
Print Location: REF ML 105 .B16 2001 (6 vols.)
Includes references and discographies
Print Location: REF ML 105 .B16 2001 (6 vols.)
Includes references and discographies
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.
A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.
Baker's Dictionary of Music.
Print Location: REF ML 100 .S635 1997
Print Location: REF ML 100 .S635 1997
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
Print Location: REF ML 100 .N48 2001 (29 vols.)
The content in this outstanding reference source is also contained in the Grove Music Online (listed above). Both versions represents the definitive scholarly refeference source for the music student and scholar.
Print Location: REF ML 100 .N48 2001 (29 vols.)
The content in this outstanding reference source is also contained in the Grove Music Online (listed above). Both versions represents the definitive scholarly refeference source for the music student and scholar.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
IPA Source
"IPA Source is the largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. . .over 11875 titles." (from IPA Source home page)
"IPA Source is the largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. . .over 11875 titles." (from IPA Source home page)
Naxos Music Library
An extensive collection of Classical, Jazz, World, Folk, and Chinese music recordings. Users can also read notes about the music and biographical information about the composers while listening to the recordings.
An extensive collection of Classical, Jazz, World, Folk, and Chinese music recordings. Users can also read notes about the music and biographical information about the composers while listening to the recordings.
African American Band Music & Recordings
"This 'presentation' with the Library of Congress's Performing Arts Encyclopedia is built around a collection of stock arrangements--i.e., band and salon orchestra versions of popular tunes made by publishing houses, usually by anonymous hands--of popular songs by African American composers. The collection includes digitized sets of parts for about 200 of theses arrangements (scores were not typically published) along with pre-1923 recordings of about 100 of these songs, played by bands or orchestras though not always in the same arrangement as the digitized parts. . . Audio files are available in both MP3 and RealMedia formats. . . One can only be delighted to have these arrangements and performances available on the Web." Jenkins II, M.D., Wright State University. Choice Reviews Online. Aug. 2009. Web. 30 Aug. 2012.
"This 'presentation' with the Library of Congress's Performing Arts Encyclopedia is built around a collection of stock arrangements--i.e., band and salon orchestra versions of popular tunes made by publishing houses, usually by anonymous hands--of popular songs by African American composers. The collection includes digitized sets of parts for about 200 of theses arrangements (scores were not typically published) along with pre-1923 recordings of about 100 of these songs, played by bands or orchestras though not always in the same arrangement as the digitized parts. . . Audio files are available in both MP3 and RealMedia formats. . . One can only be delighted to have these arrangements and performances available on the Web." Jenkins II, M.D., Wright State University. Choice Reviews Online. Aug. 2009. Web. 30 Aug. 2012.
Historic American Sheet Music
From the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University. Provides access to digital images of over 3000 pieces of published in the United States between 1850 and 1920. "Outstanding Title![internet resource]." CHOICE Reviews, March 2001.
From the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University. Provides access to digital images of over 3000 pieces of published in the United States between 1850 and 1920. "Outstanding Title![internet resource]." CHOICE Reviews, March 2001.
The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music
At Milton S. Eisenhower Library, Johns Hopkins University. An index to 29,000 pieces of American sheet music published between 1780 and 1980. An image of the cover and each page of music is retrieved if it was published before 1923 and is in the public domain. "Outstanding Title! [internet source]" CHOICE Reviews, October, 2000.
Lisa Vincent
Research & Instruction
glaubitz@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 7412
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can: - Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Video files
= Audio files