Kirksville Newspapers
Print Location: Newspapers

The current issue of the Kirksville Daily Express can be found online at: https://www.kirksvilledailyexpress.com/

The library receives current copies of the Kirksville Daily Express.  These copies are kept on the newspaper shelves and folders in the northeast corner of the first floor of the library until the microfilm for that year is received.

A chronology of Adair County Historical items gleaned from Kirksville newspapers, the Selby Index is a selective abstract/index available in the Periodicals Department and Special Collections Department.  Note: this index is selective and not a complete index of the Kirksville newspapers. 

The Special Collections Department also has a clippings file for Kirksville Daily Express articles relating to Truman State University and Adair County.

The following  Kirksville newspapers are available on microfilm in the Microfilm Collection Room on the first floor of the library.

• Kirksville Crier, 1989-1990
• Kirksville Daily Democrat,  August 30, 1915 - October 20, 1915
• Kirksville Daily Express, 1906+
• Kirksville Democrat,  August 24, 1882- December 29, 1914
• Kirksville Evening Journal,  September 2,1891 - December 30, 1891
• Kirksville Journal,  January 3, 1867 - November 16, 1922
• Kirksville Morning News,  January 13,1914 - December 31, 1915
• Kirksville Saturday Mail, 1891-1899
• Kirksville Tattler,  January 23, 1875 - July 27, 1875
• Kirksville Weekly Graphic, 1880-1953 (includes Kirksville Graphic)
• North Missouri Register (includes North Missouri Tribune),  August 25, 1870- September 26, 1879

Microfilm/fiche readers and printers are located on the south side of the Periodicals office.  The library has 11 microfilm readers, 6 microfiche readers, and 6 film/fiche printers available during the library's open hours.  Paper copies from microfilm/fiche are 10 cents a page. The library also has CapturePerfect software which allows the library user to view, scan, digitize and store or print  filmed images from a desktop computer.

Vital Statistics

Official Manual, State of Missouri
Library has 1989+ in Missouriana Collection. Latest year in Reference JK 5430 M5.  Also available online.

Annual Report of the Public Schools of Missouri

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection

HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s. 

The collection consists of six core data sets:

• U.S. Federal Censuses feature the original images of every extant federal census in the United States, from 1790 through 1930, with name indexes for many decades. In total the collection covers more than 140 million names.
• Genealogy and local history books deliver more than 7 million digitized page images from over 28,000 family histories, local histories, and other books. Titles have been digitized from our own renowned microform collections, as well from the American Antiquarian Society via an exclusive partnership.
• Periodical Source Index (PERSI), published by the Allen County Public Library, is recognized as the most comprehensive index genealogy and local history periodicals. It contains more than 2 million records covering titles published around the world since 1800.
• Revolutionary War records contains original images from pension and bounty land warrant application files help to identify more than 80,000 American Army, Navy, and Marine officers and enlisted men from the Revolutionary War era.
• Freedman’s Bank Records, with more than 480,000 names of bank applicants, their dependents, and heirs from 1865–1874, offers valuable data that can provide important clues to tracing African American ancestors prior to and immediately after the Civil War.
• LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set records the memorials, petitions, private relief actions made to the U.S. Congress back to 1789, with a total of more than 480,000 pages of information.

Missouri Digital Heritage
Jointly administered by the Missouri State Archives and the Missouri State Library, divisions of the Secretary of State's office.  Collecting the history of Missouri.