Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
BioMed Central
Provides access to over 100 free peer-reviewed journals in all areas of biology and medicine.
Provides access to over 100 free peer-reviewed journals in all areas of biology and medicine.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
This rich online resource is unparalleled in the industry, offering 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
This rich online resource is unparalleled in the industry, offering 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Health Reference Center Academic
Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
MedLine, 1950+
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
MedLine, 1950+
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine
Offer a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more with access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports.
Offer a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more with access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports.
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
PubMed
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also available as MedLine. GoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also available as MedLine. GoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a website which provides subscription-based access to a large database of scientific and medical research published by Elsevier. Truman has a very small number of the titles published by Elsevier. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities. Article abstracts are freely available, but access to their full texts (in PDF and, for newer publications, also HTML) generally requires a subscription or pay-per-view purchase. These articles can also be requested on Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
ScienceDirect is a website which provides subscription-based access to a large database of scientific and medical research published by Elsevier. Truman has a very small number of the titles published by Elsevier. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities. Article abstracts are freely available, but access to their full texts (in PDF and, for newer publications, also HTML) generally requires a subscription or pay-per-view purchase. These articles can also be requested on Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
MedPix
from the National Library of Medicine, 50,000 medical images organized into patient case scenarios. The database is browsable by diagnosis, the American College or Radiology coding system, and body location.
from the National Library of Medicine, 50,000 medical images organized into patient case scenarios. The database is browsable by diagnosis, the American College or Radiology coding system, and body location.
Dictionary of Medical Biography.
Print Location: Reference R 134 D57 2007
Print Location: Reference R 134 D57 2007
Abbreviations.com
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Merck Manuals Online Medical Library 
Detailed discussion of condition or disease with etiology and pathophysiology; sympomes and signs; diagnosis; prognosis and treatment. This version also has audio and video. Available in print at: Ref RC 55 M4 2006
Detailed discussion of condition or disease with etiology and pathophysiology; sympomes and signs; diagnosis; prognosis and treatment. This version also has audio and video. Available in print at: Ref RC 55 M4 2006
Physicians Desk Reference.
Print Location: Reference RS 75 P5
Contatns labeling for drugs as well as prescription information provided by the manufacturers of the Drugs. Also has pictures of the drugs.
Print Location: Reference RS 75 P5
Contatns labeling for drugs as well as prescription information provided by the manufacturers of the Drugs. Also has pictures of the drugs.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Centers for Disease Control
Provides information on diseases and conditions; emergency preparedness and response; healthy living; travelers health information; environmental health; injury, violence and safety
Provides information on diseases and conditions; emergency preparedness and response; healthy living; travelers health information; environmental health; injury, violence and safety
Global Health Observatory
From World Health Organization. This is a centralized and comprehensive source of information and analyses on global health R & D activities. It includes: communicable diseases; non-communicable disease and mental health; maternal and newborn health; mortality from environmental pollution; child malnutrition; drinking water; sanitation and hygiene; clean household energy; clean cities; substance abuse; road traffic injuries; sexual health; universal health coverage.
From World Health Organization. This is a centralized and comprehensive source of information and analyses on global health R & D activities. It includes: communicable diseases; non-communicable disease and mental health; maternal and newborn health; mortality from environmental pollution; child malnutrition; drinking water; sanitation and hygiene; clean household energy; clean cities; substance abuse; road traffic injuries; sexual health; universal health coverage.
GPO Catalog of Government Publications
Covers all types of U.S. government documents. Indexes government documents printed by the U.S. Government Printing Office since July 1976; documents include Congressional committee hearings, congressional debates and records, judicial material, documents issued by departments such as Defense, State, Labor, and the Office of the President. Also includes links to Federal agency online resources.
Covers all types of U.S. government documents. Indexes government documents printed by the U.S. Government Printing Office since July 1976; documents include Congressional committee hearings, congressional debates and records, judicial material, documents issued by departments such as Defense, State, Labor, and the Office of the President. Also includes links to Federal agency online resources.
MMWR: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Gives reports on scientific research on health topics; publishes the notifiable diseases that have occurred in the past week; has statistics on diseases; has a tutorial series. Produced by the Centers for Disease Control.
Gives reports on scientific research on health topics; publishes the notifiable diseases that have occurred in the past week; has statistics on diseases; has a tutorial series. Produced by the Centers for Disease Control.
National Institutes of Health
Articles on important health topics; clinical trials; applications for research.
Articles on important health topics; clinical trials; applications for research.
United Nations Environment Programme
The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Web site provides regional and global environmental information focusing on UNEPs six priority areas: Climate Change; Disasters and Conflicts; Ecosystem Management; Environmental Governance; Harmful Substances; and Resource Efficiency. They have freely available publications online including: annual reports, atlases, serials and ebooks.
The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Web site provides regional and global environmental information focusing on UNEPs six priority areas: Climate Change; Disasters and Conflicts; Ecosystem Management; Environmental Governance; Harmful Substances; and Resource Efficiency. They have freely available publications online including: annual reports, atlases, serials and ebooks.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
MedlinePlus
Authoritative explanations of 750 medical topics; drug information; directories for finding local doctors and hospitals; news; tutorials; medical information in 40 languages. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Authoritative explanations of 750 medical topics; drug information; directories for finding local doctors and hospitals; news; tutorials; medical information in 40 languages. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Dan McGurk
Research & Instruction
dmcgurk@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4528
Book a RAP session with me
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
- How can I access the databases from off-campus?
- How can I avoid plagiarism when I am using ideas and words that are NOT of my own creation in my writing?
- How do I use a bibliographic style like MLA, APA or Chicago to cite my bibliographic sources in a research paper?
- What is evidence-based practice?
- R Medicine
= Restricted resource
= Video files