Dryland East Asia: Land Dynamics Amid Social and Climate Change
Drylands in East Asia (DEA) are home to more than one billion people and vulnerable to natural and anthropogenic changes. In order to develop adaptation strategies one needs to know how ecosystems respond to these changes. The book provides state-of-the-art knowledge on drylands ecosystem dynamics, climate changes, and land use in DEA. With contributions from international experts, the book will be of interest both to researchers and students.

Economic Growth in Monsoon Asia
Print Location: HC460.5 O86 1987

Monsoon Lands of Asia
Print Location: DS10 .R3

America: History and Life
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.

Environmental Studies & Policy Collection
Addresses environmental concerns and research with coverage from more than 300 journals and book reference content.

Gale in Context : Environmental Studies
Gale in Context : Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR) is an electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.

Greenfile
GreenFILE is a welcome addition with its clear message of 'focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.' With the emphasis on the 'connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology,' it is a perfect fit for the liberal arts campus.

Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.

World History Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
 

Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
“Agriculture in Economically Less-Developed Countries (ELDCs).”

Science Encyclopedia: Encyclopedia of Marine Science
“Monsoons.” 

In The Kingdom Of Fish
The second documentary in the collection is built around a custom that is thousands of years old: fishing. At present, about 65 million people in the Greater Mekong live directly from the fish the river has to offer. Fishing methods are of course different according to places and ethnic groups. Additionally, modern times strongly challenge the fishermen in the Greater Mekong. Torn between tradition and modernity, these men and women have to make for themselves, and their families, decisions about new ways of life. Climate change and pollution add to the problem of a painful adaptation to a new way of life.

Modifying the Weather: The Case of the Man-Made Desert
By building roads, watering crops, and grazing cattle, we are constantly changing the climate. We may also modify the weather by cloud seeding, though there is no scientifically accepted proof that rain or snow would not have occurred naturally in cases where seeding appears to have been successful. This program shows how migration in the Sahel has altered regional climate; examines the tomorrow-be-damned policy of water usage in Arizona; and investigates the drastic miscarriage of good intentions in Central Asia, where efforts to irrigate the desert turned into the worst climatic disaster in the history of the Soviet Union: the drying up of the Aral Sea, once the world's fourth-largest lake. The program details how this catastrophe happened and reveals its consequences for the population, the physical geography, and the climate of the area.

Secrets of the Oceans: Climate Control
When it comes to regulating global temperatures, forget the Amazon rainforest. It’s the oceans that really deserve the title of 'lungs of the planet'. Their plankton provides us with oxygen. Their currents transport heat from the tropical regions to the poles, acting as an air conditioner. They absorb almost a quarter of the carbon dioxide emitted annually. But so much of what they do and exactly how they do it is still unknown. To gain a deeper understanding of the importance of oceans in regulating our climate, we bring you four stories from four different corners of the world. From the seaborne lives of the Bajaus of Asia to the scientific crew of the Tara in Greenland. From the meteorological station in Siberia to the fishermen of the Gulf Stream. Four people, four seasons, four stories told in parallel over 24 hours that reveal the sometimes invisible ties between man and the sea.

The Biofuel Myth: Harsh Realities in the Developing World
Once widely considered a sustainable energy source, some forms of biofuel are now seen as exploitative and environmentally harmful. This program examines the global dilemma over palm oil—a fuel source championed by the European Union before the effects of its cultivation became apparent in the developing world. Viewers meet members of Indonesia’s Orang Rimba tribe who have drawn sustenance from the rain forests for millennia and now watch as their lands give way to palm oil plantations. The film highlights efforts by tribal and Western activists to fight deforestation, as well as the work of E.U. leaders like Claude Turmes, who once supported agrofuel quotas but now recognizes their destructive impact. (44 minutes)