Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO).
Full text articles from over 200 journals covering all areas of communication and media and indexing and abstracting for many more.
Full text articles from over 200 journals covering all areas of communication and media and indexing and abstracting for many more.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
MLA Bibliography
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Essay and General Literature Index,1900-2000.
Print Location: Reference AI 3 E752
A detailed index by author, subject, and some titles to essays published in books.
Print Location: Reference AI 3 E752
A detailed index by author, subject, and some titles to essays published in books.
Language Teaching, 1982-2010
Print Location: Periodicals PB35 L322
Indexes scholarly journals on learning and teaching languages.
Print Location: Periodicals PB35 L322
Indexes scholarly journals on learning and teaching languages.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Phonetic symbol guide.
Print Location: Reference P226 P85 1996
Phonetic Symbol Guide is a comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of phonetic alphabet symbols, providing a complete survey of the hundreds of characters used by linguists and speech scientists to record the sounds of the world's languages.
Print Location: Reference P226 P85 1996
Phonetic Symbol Guide is a comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of phonetic alphabet symbols, providing a complete survey of the hundreds of characters used by linguists and speech scientists to record the sounds of the world's languages.
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics.
Print Location: Reference P29 .C65 2003
Print Location: Reference P29 .C65 2003
Encyclopedia of Linguistics.
Print Location: Reference P29 .E483 2005
Print Location: Reference P29 .E483 2005
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics.
Print Location: Reference P29 .I58 2003
Print Location: Reference P29 .I58 2003
A Student's Dictionary of Language and Linguistics.
Print Location: Reference P29 .T69 1997
Print Location: Reference P29 .T69 1997
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Zotero
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
1. Getting Started Video – (8 minutes)
2. The Basics: Documentation from Zotero
3. Using Zotero – Guide created by Princeton University Library
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
1. Getting Started Video – (8 minutes)
2. The Basics: Documentation from Zotero
3. Using Zotero – Guide created by Princeton University Library
Center for Applied Linguistics
a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems
a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems
Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center
The acknowledged leader in all aspects of culturally based foreign language education, DLIFLC is an innovative and continuously adapting organization, operating on the cutting edge of language instruction and technology."
The acknowledged leader in all aspects of culturally based foreign language education, DLIFLC is an innovative and continuously adapting organization, operating on the cutting edge of language instruction and technology."
Chrissy Hicks
Research & Instruction
chicks@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4741
Book a RAP session with me
Research Assistance Program: Meet one-on-one with a librarian to find sources for your assignments.
RAP session Request Form.
RAP session Request Form.
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files