Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography on Latin American studies materials by Library of Congress.
Bibliography on Latin American studies materials by Library of Congress.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) 
authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. You can limit your searches by the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian. Click here for a list of journals indexed in HAPI since 1970.
authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. You can limit your searches by the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian. Click here for a list of journals indexed in HAPI since 1970.
Informe
Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this reference tool provides full-text of popular Hispanic magazines - not just translations.
Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this reference tool provides full-text of popular Hispanic magazines - not just translations.
LAPTOC - Latin American Periodicals Table of Contents
LAPTOC, provides access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean. LAPTOC consists of 975 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 340,000 articles in the area’s major languages. Most of the articles indexed in LAPTOC were published between 1994 and 2009. Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication.
LAPTOC, provides access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean. LAPTOC consists of 975 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 340,000 articles in the area’s major languages. Most of the articles indexed in LAPTOC were published between 1994 and 2009. Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication.
Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Academic OneFile
Connect students to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
Connect students to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Some of the Latin American Studies journals include: Hispania, Journal of Latin American Studies, Latin American Perspectives, and Latin American Research Review.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Some of the Latin American Studies journals include: Hispania, Journal of Latin American Studies, Latin American Perspectives, and Latin American Research Review.
Humanities International Complete
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
AnthroSource
From the American Anthropological Association, full text coverage of 32 journals covering various areas in anthropology.
From the American Anthropological Association, full text coverage of 32 journals covering various areas in anthropology.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
Latin America - Microfilm Collections
note: Select "List By Subject" tab, then: "Latin American History"
note: Select "List By Subject" tab, then: "Latin American History"
Pickler Library Microforms Collections
Our Microform Collections are another great place to find primary source material.
Our Microform Collections are another great place to find primary source material.
Records of the US Department of State relating to Internal Affairs of Ecuador, 1960-1963
Microform Location: F3738 .R43 2003
Microform Location: F3738 .R43 2003
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
This multidisciplinary resource includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, providing research across the humanities both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. Includes both primary and secondary sources.
This multidisciplinary resource includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, providing research across the humanities both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. Includes both primary and secondary sources.
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print -
Print Location: General Collection - varies JX632 - JZ632
Part I, From the Mid-nineteenth Century to the first World War
Series A Russia
Series B The Near & Middle East
Series C North America
Series D Latin America
Series E Asia
Series F Europe
Series G Africa
Part II, From the First to the Second World War
Series A Soviet Union
Series B Turkey, Iran & Middle East
Series C North America
Series D Latin America
Series E Asia
Series F Europe
Series G Africa
Print Location: General Collection - varies JX632 - JZ632
Part I, From the Mid-nineteenth Century to the first World War
Series A Russia
Series B The Near & Middle East
Series C North America
Series D Latin America
Series E Asia
Series F Europe
Series G Africa
Part II, From the First to the Second World War
Series A Soviet Union
Series B Turkey, Iran & Middle East
Series C North America
Series D Latin America
Series E Asia
Series F Europe
Series G Africa
Digital National Security Archive
The Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) contains over 80,000 declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. This database is comprised of 35 collections, each focused on a single topic, that contain a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and other secret material.
ProQuest Congressional
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
Indexing from 1789 onward; some full text available online after 1980.
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
Indexing from 1789 onward; some full text available online after 1980.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The database includes more than 350,000 pages of descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups. The easiest way to use eHRAF is to browse by culture. Click Browse along the top then click on Browse Cultures by Regions (located on the left). Relevant regions include Middle America & the Caribbean and South America. Each Region is divided by country and then by cultures (i.e. Mexico--Huichol, Tzeltal, Zapotec).
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The database includes more than 350,000 pages of descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups. The easiest way to use eHRAF is to browse by culture. Click Browse along the top then click on Browse Cultures by Regions (located on the left). Relevant regions include Middle America & the Caribbean and South America. Each Region is divided by country and then by cultures (i.e. Mexico--Huichol, Tzeltal, Zapotec).
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
associated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas (UT)-Austin, LANIC seeks to "provide Latin American users with access to academic databases and information services throughout the Internet, and to provide Latin Americanists around the world with access to information on and from Latin America."
associated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas (UT)-Austin, LANIC seeks to "provide Latin American users with access to academic databases and information services throughout the Internet, and to provide Latin Americanists around the world with access to information on and from Latin America."
Dan McGurk
Research & Instruction
dmcgurk@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4528
Book a RAP session with me
Zotero is a free tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
The University of California-Berkeley Library has a great online guide covering all things Zotero -- from installation to using it with Google Docs to inserting citations and creating bibliographies: Zotero Guide
The University of California-Berkeley Library has a great online guide covering all things Zotero -- from installation to using it with Google Docs to inserting citations and creating bibliographies: Zotero Guide
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files