- SocIndex with Full Text
- JSTOR
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America. REF HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2006 (3 vols.)
Academic Search Complete
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Gender Studies Collection
"Comprehensive periodical collection supporting significant aspects of gender in culture and society"
"Comprehensive periodical collection supporting significant aspects of gender in culture and society"
GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
Online academic journal. "Providing a much-needed forum for interdisciplinary discussion, GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality." There is a search box the user can use for locating specific articles on a topic. Full text of articles in pdf and html formats.
Online academic journal. "Providing a much-needed forum for interdisciplinary discussion, GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality." There is a search box the user can use for locating specific articles on a topic. Full text of articles in pdf and html formats.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
PsycARTICLES
Full text access to over 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Full text access to over 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
SocIndex with Full Text
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers. Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database. For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.
A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.
Cassell's Encyclopedia of Queer Myth, Symbol, and Spirit: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Lore.
Print Location: REF BL 795 .H6 C65 1997
Click here for Table of Contents
Print Location: REF BL 795 .H6 C65 1997
Click here for Table of Contents
Completely Queer: The Gay and Lesbian Encyclopedia.
Print Location: General HQ 76.2 .U5 H65 1999
Print Location: General HQ 76.2 .U5 H65 1999
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture.
Print Location: REF HQ 75.13 .P76 2008
About the Center, Mission, etc.
Print Location: REF HQ 75.13 .P76 2008
About the Center, Mission, etc.
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality.
Print Location: REF HQ 76.25 .E53 1990 (2 vols.)
Print Location: REF HQ 76.25 .E53 1990 (2 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America.
Print Location: REF HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2006 (3 vols.)
Print Location: REF HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2006 (3 vols.)
Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia.
Print Location: REF HQ 75.15 .E63 2000 v. 2
Print Location: REF HQ 75.15 .E63 2000 v. 2
Historical Dictionary of the Gay Liberation Movement.
Print Location: REF HQ 76.5 .H86 1999
Print Location: REF HQ 76.5 .H86 1999
Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia.
Print Location: REF HQ 75.16 .E63 v. 1
Print Location: REF HQ 75.16 .E63 v. 1
Advocate College Guide for LGBT Students.
Print Location: REF LC 2574.6 .W56 2006
Print Location: REF LC 2574.6 .W56 2006
Handbook of the Sociology of Gender.
Print Location: General HQ 1075 .C47 1999
Click here for Table of Contents
Print Location: General HQ 1075 .C47 1999
Click here for Table of Contents
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
Beyond Straight and Gay Marriage: Valuing All Families Under the Law.
Print Location: General Collection KF538 .P65 2008
Print Location: General Collection KF538 .P65 2008
Harvey Milk Institute Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Internet Research.
Print Location: REF HQ 76.25 .H375 2002
Click here for Table of Contents
Print Location: REF HQ 76.25 .H375 2002
Click here for Table of Contents
Queer America: A GLBT History of the 20th Century.
Print Location: General HQ 76.3 .U5 E35 2008
Print Location: General HQ 76.3 .U5 E35 2008
Almost Myself: Reflections on Mending & Transcending Gender.
Print Location: Media DVD HQ 77.7 .A46 2007
Print Location: Media DVD HQ 77.7 .A46 2007
This is a documentary film. Click here for summary.
Times of Harvey Milk.
Print Location: Media Video HQ 76.8 .U5 T56 1986
This is a documentary film on VHS.
Print Location: Media Video HQ 76.8 .U5 T56 1986
This is a documentary film on VHS.
Answers to Your Questions About Transgender. . .
From the American Psychological Association, answers to questions related to gender identity
From the American Psychological Association, answers to questions related to gender identity
Answers to Your Questions For a Better Understanding of Sexual Orientation. . .
From the American Psychological Association, answers to questions related to homosexuality and sexual oriention.
From the American Psychological Association, answers to questions related to homosexuality and sexual oriention.
The Gay Peoples Union Collection
". . .diverse online body of primary resources covering the LGBT activist history of Milwaukee created as part of the University of Wisconsin Digital Collection. . .covers the period 1970 to 1984. It centers on the internal records and publications of one of the first gay activist organizations to form in the city of Milwaukee in the 1970s (and one still extant today). . .Features include a complete run of the newspaper GPU News from 1971 to 1981. . .absence of links to other comparable archival resources on the LGBT history such as Chicago's Gerber/Hart Library. . .or the Quatrefoil Library in St. Paul. . .is the only major flaw in an otherwise excellently presented resource. . .Highly recommended." Ridinger, R.B.M., Northern Illinois University. Choice Reviews Online. Oct. 2009. Web. 9 Aug. 2012.
". . .diverse online body of primary resources covering the LGBT activist history of Milwaukee created as part of the University of Wisconsin Digital Collection. . .covers the period 1970 to 1984. It centers on the internal records and publications of one of the first gay activist organizations to form in the city of Milwaukee in the 1970s (and one still extant today). . .Features include a complete run of the newspaper GPU News from 1971 to 1981. . .absence of links to other comparable archival resources on the LGBT history such as Chicago's Gerber/Hart Library. . .or the Quatrefoil Library in St. Paul. . .is the only major flaw in an otherwise excellently presented resource. . .Highly recommended." Ridinger, R.B.M., Northern Illinois University. Choice Reviews Online. Oct. 2009. Web. 9 Aug. 2012.
Chrissy Hicks
Research & Instruction
chicks@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4741
Book a RAP session with me
- sexual minorities
- gays
- gay men
- gays in literature
- gays in motion pictures
- lesbians
- lesbians identity
- lesbians in literature
- lesbianism in motion pictures
- lesbian feminism
- Bisexuality
- bisexuals
- gays identity
- gay rights
- gay rights--religious aspects
- gender identity
- transgender men
- transgender women
- transgender people in literature
- intersex people
- asexual people
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can: - Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Video files
= Audio files