Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
BioMed Central
Provides access to over 100 free peer-reviewed journals in all areas of biology and medicine.
Provides access to over 100 free peer-reviewed journals in all areas of biology and medicine.
CINAHL Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 3000 current nursing and health journals.
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 3000 current nursing and health journals.
Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
This rich online resource is unparalleled in the industry, offering 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
This rich online resource is unparalleled in the industry, offering 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Health Reference Center Academic
Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
MedLine, 1950+
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
POPLINE
Population information online: abstracts of the worldwide literature on population, family planning, and related health issues.
Population information online: abstracts of the worldwide literature on population, family planning, and related health issues.
PubMed
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also available as MedLine. GoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also available as MedLine. GoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
MedPix
from the National Library of Medicine, 50,000 medical images organized into patient case scenarios. The database is browsable by diagnosis, the American College or Radiology coding system, and body location.
from the National Library of Medicine, 50,000 medical images organized into patient case scenarios. The database is browsable by diagnosis, the American College or Radiology coding system, and body location.
EPHT
The Missouri Environment Public Health Tracking (EPHT) program was developed to assist the public, communities, policymakers, and scientists, answer fundamental questions about the relationships between environmental exposures and health effects. Data on this site also include hazard and disease surveillance.
The Missouri Environment Public Health Tracking (EPHT) program was developed to assist the public, communities, policymakers, and scientists, answer fundamental questions about the relationships between environmental exposures and health effects. Data on this site also include hazard and disease surveillance.
Health, United States
Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes and an index.
Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes and an index.
MICA
The Missouri Information for Community Assessment (MICA) allows users to summarize data, calculate rates, and prepare information in a graphic format.
The Missouri Information for Community Assessment (MICA) allows users to summarize data, calculate rates, and prepare information in a graphic format.
MICA - Data Profiles
Community Data Profiles are available on various subject areas and provide data on 15-30 indicators for each geography selected.
Community Data Profiles are available on various subject areas and provide data on 15-30 indicators for each geography selected.
Missouri County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
Has overall health rankings by county. It also includes statistics on length of life, quality of life, health behaviors; clinical care; social and economic factors; physical environment for each county.
Has overall health rankings by county. It also includes statistics on length of life, quality of life, health behaviors; clinical care; social and economic factors; physical environment for each county.
Missouri KIDS COUNT data tool
Statistics about children including: economic well-being, health, child protection, safety and education.
Statistics about children including: economic well-being, health, child protection, safety and education.
Partners in Prevention
Research reports and data charts on Missouri's college students' health behaviors and addictions.
Research reports and data charts on Missouri's college students' health behaviors and addictions.
Statista
A statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies. Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
A statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies. Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Merck Manuals Online Medical Library 
Detailed discussion of condition or disease with etiology and pathophysiology; sympomes and signs; diagnosis; prognosis and treatment. This version also has audio and video. Available in print at: Ref RC 55 M4 2006
Detailed discussion of condition or disease with etiology and pathophysiology; sympomes and signs; diagnosis; prognosis and treatment. This version also has audio and video. Available in print at: Ref RC 55 M4 2006
Physicians Desk Reference.
Print Location: Reference RS 75 P5
Contatns labeling for drugs as well as prescription information provided by the manufacturers of the Drugs. Also has pictures of the drugs.
Print Location: Reference RS 75 P5
Contatns labeling for drugs as well as prescription information provided by the manufacturers of the Drugs. Also has pictures of the drugs.
Centers for Disease Control
Provides information on diseases and conditions; emergency preparedness and response; healthy living; travelers health information; environmental health; injury, violence and safety
Provides information on diseases and conditions; emergency preparedness and response; healthy living; travelers health information; environmental health; injury, violence and safety
Global Health Observatory
From World Health Organization. This is a centralized and comprehensive source of information and analyses on global health R & D activities. It includes: communicable diseases; non-communicable disease and mental health; maternal and newborn health; mortality from environmental pollution; child malnutrition; drinking water; sanitation and hygiene; clean household energy; clean cities; substance abuse; road traffic injuries; sexual health; universal health coverage.
From World Health Organization. This is a centralized and comprehensive source of information and analyses on global health R & D activities. It includes: communicable diseases; non-communicable disease and mental health; maternal and newborn health; mortality from environmental pollution; child malnutrition; drinking water; sanitation and hygiene; clean household energy; clean cities; substance abuse; road traffic injuries; sexual health; universal health coverage.
MMWR: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Gives reports on scientific research on health topics; publishes the notifiable diseases that have occurred in the past week; has statistics on diseases; has a tutorial series. Produced by the Centers for Disease Control.
Gives reports on scientific research on health topics; publishes the notifiable diseases that have occurred in the past week; has statistics on diseases; has a tutorial series. Produced by the Centers for Disease Control.
National Institutes of Health
Articles on important health topics; clinical trials; applications for research.
Articles on important health topics; clinical trials; applications for research.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Electronic Public Health Resources
Prepared by the Public Health Library, University of California, Berkley
Prepared by the Public Health Library, University of California, Berkley
HealthCare.gov
The federal government website for information about health insurance: how to find it; how to use it; health care laws; a comparison of health care providers and a link for prevention and wellness.
The federal government website for information about health insurance: how to find it; how to use it; health care laws; a comparison of health care providers and a link for prevention and wellness.
HealthyPeople.gov
Healthy People 2020 strives to:
- Identify nationwide health improvement priorities.
- Increase public awareness and understanding of the determinants of health, disease, and disability and the opportunities for progress.
- Provide measurable objectives and goals that are applicable at the national, State, and local levels.
- Engage multiple sectors to take actions to strengthen policies and improve practices that are driven by the best available evidence and knowledge.
- Identify critical research, evaluation, and data collection needs.
- Attain high-quality, longer lives free of preventable disease, disability, injury, and premature death.
- Achieve health equity, eliminate disparities, and improve the health of all groups.
- Create social and physical environments that promote good health for all.
- Promote quality of life, healthy development, and healthy behaviors across all life stages.
- General Health Status
- Health-Related Quality of Life and Well-Being
- Determinants of Health
- Disparities
MedlinePlus
Authoritative explanations of 750 medical topics; drug information; directories for finding local doctors and hospitals; news; tutorials; medical information in 40 languages. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Authoritative explanations of 750 medical topics; drug information; directories for finding local doctors and hospitals; news; tutorials; medical information in 40 languages. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Lisa Vincent
Research & Instruction
glaubitz@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 7412
Book a RAP session with me
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
- How can I access the databases from off-campus?
- How can I avoid plagiarism when I am using ideas and words that are NOT of my own creation in my writing?
- How do I use a bibliographic style like MLA, APA or Chicago to cite my bibliographic sources in a research paper?
- What is evidence-based practice?
= Restricted resource
= Video files