Academic OneFile 
Connect students to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
Connect students to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank)
Find diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos, periodicals, and web-only content. Also included is Suggested topics - 12 subject categories for topical curricular research
Find diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos, periodicals, and web-only content. Also included is Suggested topics - 12 subject categories for topical curricular research
Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Gale in Contnext: College
Gale In Context: College is great place to get an overview of a topic. The database provides contextual information on a wide array of subjects through an organized portal. The content is continuously updated and includes: reference sources, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Gale In Context: College is great place to get an overview of a topic. The database provides contextual information on a wide array of subjects through an organized portal. The content is continuously updated and includes: reference sources, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Gardening/Landscape & Horticulture Collection
Serves horticultural enthusiasts of all levels with more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles.
Serves horticultural enthusiasts of all levels with more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles.
General OneFile
Our largest general-interest periodical resource allows users to find the information they want quickly, with intuitive searching that ensures they tap into quality sources.
Our largest general-interest periodical resource allows users to find the information they want quickly, with intuitive searching that ensures they tap into quality sources.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
This rich online resource is unparalleled in the industry, offering 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
This rich online resource is unparalleled in the industry, offering 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Home Improvement Collection
Home Improvement Collection provides access to titles covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others. The database offers content that meets the needs of hobbyists and professionals alike.
Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection
Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
MAS Ultra – School Edition
This database is designed specifically for high school libraries and contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, etc. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents and more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts); an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs; and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
This database is designed specifically for high school libraries and contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, etc. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents and more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts); an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs; and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Middle Search Plus
Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; American Heritage® Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; American Heritage® Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Newsstand
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Opposing Viewpoints
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.
Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example: "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of the Opposing Viewpoint Series.
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.
Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example: "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of the Opposing Viewpoint Series.
Pop Culture Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Popular Magazines
Popular Magazines provides access to the most searched magazines across the InfoTrac products. All of the titles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries".
Primary Search
Primary Search®, designed specifically for elementary school students contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Primary Search®, designed specifically for elementary school students contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Readers' Guide Retrospective.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Vocations & Careers Collection
Library resource that provides current and applicable periodical content to aid in career and vocational research -- from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Library resource that provides current and applicable periodical content to aid in career and vocational research -- from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Biography Resource Center
Includes biographies and full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers on people from all eras and fields of endeavor. It also includes tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites.
Statista
A statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies. Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
A statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies. Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Abbreviations.com
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Europa World
Online version of the Europa World Year Book. Contains political and economic informatin on over 250 countries and territories and profiles of over 1650 international organizations.
Online version of the Europa World Year Book. Contains political and economic informatin on over 250 countries and territories and profiles of over 1650 international organizations.
U.S. Government Printing Office - Govinfo.gov
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office for finding government publications on the Internet.
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office for finding government publications on the Internet.
Chiltonlibrary.com
Deliver reliable automotive help online 24/7 through ChiltonLibrary, trusted by automotive enthusiasts and professionals for more than 100 years.
Deliver reliable automotive help online 24/7 through ChiltonLibrary, trusted by automotive enthusiasts and professionals for more than 100 years.
Google Books
Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search. Many older books and government documents are full-text. Shows you the closest library that owns a book. Also links to several online booksellers.
For more searching options try the Advanced Search form.
Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search. Many older books and government documents are full-text. Shows you the closest library that owns a book. Also links to several online booksellers.
For more searching options try the Advanced Search form.
Library Catalog
This is the catalog for all books, periodicals, movies, cds, pictures, music scores, audiobooks and electronic sources in Pickler Memorial Library at Truman State University.
This is the catalog for all books, periodicals, movies, cds, pictures, music scores, audiobooks and electronic sources in Pickler Memorial Library at Truman State University.
MOBIUS-Missouri Academic Libraries
Combined catalog of materials from Missouri academic libraries. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days. This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.
Combined catalog of materials from Missouri academic libraries. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days. This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.
WorldCat
Combined catalog of thousands of libraries around the world. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within two weeks. This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff. A modified version of WorldCat is also available for free.
Combined catalog of thousands of libraries around the world. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within two weeks. This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff. A modified version of WorldCat is also available for free.
Book Collection: Nonfiction - Elementary Edition
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 1,300 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, nature, civics and more.
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 1,300 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, nature, civics and more.
Book Collection: Nonfiction - High School Edition
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 2,450 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 2,450 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.
Book Collection: Nonfiction - Middle School Edition
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 3,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 3,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
Master Theses at Truman
Masters' theses written by students at Truman State University (1997+) are available online through Dissertations & Theses at UMI.
To immediately view the first 24 pages of a thesis, click on PREVIEW. To download an entire thesis, click on PDF.
NOTE: Access to full text is restricted to use on the Truman network.
Print copies of Masters' theses written by students at Truman are arranged on the shelves in the library by call number: General Collection LB 1900 K6, then by number in order as they were received. These may be checked out. Additional archival copies are kept in the Library's Special Collections Department.
All Masters' theses are listed in the Library's Catalog. You can search by author, title, and keyword.
Masters' theses written by students at Truman State University (1997+) are available online through Dissertations & Theses at UMI.
To immediately view the first 24 pages of a thesis, click on PREVIEW. To download an entire thesis, click on PDF.
NOTE: Access to full text is restricted to use on the Truman network.
Print copies of Masters' theses written by students at Truman are arranged on the shelves in the library by call number: General Collection LB 1900 K6, then by number in order as they were received. These may be checked out. Additional archival copies are kept in the Library's Special Collections Department.
All Masters' theses are listed in the Library's Catalog. You can search by author, title, and keyword.
Films on Demand 
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Research & Instruction
Librarian
asklib@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4051
Do you need something to read, watch or listen too just for fun? The library has current popular fiction and non-fiction books that you can check out. They are in the Popular Reading Collection located in the Gallery area on the First Floor. Pickler Memorial Library also has Audiobooks and Videos that you can check out. |
= Restricted resource