Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
MLA Bibliography
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
African Americans in the Performing Arts.
Print Location: REF PN 2286 .O88 2003
Print Location: REF PN 2286 .O88 2003
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.
A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.
Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television.
Print Location: REF PN 2208 .W52 1981-2008.
Print Location: REF PN 2208 .W52 1981-2008.
Encyclopaedia of Hindi Cinema.
Print Location: REF PN 1993.5 .I8 E63 2003
Print Location: REF PN 1993.5 .I8 E63 2003
Encyclopedia of European Cinema.
Print Location: REF PN 1993.5 .E8 E53 1995
Print Location: REF PN 1993.5 .E8 E53 1995
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications.
Try a search for such terms as: film and television, historic development and film, propaganda films, documentary films, theatrical films, cartoons and animated films.
Try a search for such terms as: film and television, historic development and film, propaganda films, documentary films, theatrical films, cartoons and animated films.
Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film.
Print Location: REF PN 1995.9 .D6 E53 2006 (3 vols.)
Print Location: REF PN 1995.9 .D6 E53 2006 (3 vols.)
Film Encyclopedia.
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .K34 1994
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .K34 1994
Historical Dictionary of Film Noir.
Print Location: REF PN 1995.9 .F54 S685
Print Location: REF PN 1995.9 .F54 S685
Historical Dictionary of French Cinema.
Print Location: REF PN 1993.5 .F7 O83 2007
Print Location: REF PN 1993.5 .F7 O83 2007
Historical Dictionary of Italian Cinema.
Print Location: REF PN 1993.5 .I88 M56 2008
Print Location: REF PN 1993.5 .I88 M56 2008
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers.
Print Location: REF PN 1997.8 .I58 2000 (5 vols.)
Volume 1: Films
Volume 2: Directors/Filmmakers
Volume 3: Actors and Actresses
Volume 4: Writers and Production Artists
Volume 5: Title Index
Print Location: REF PN 1997.8 .I58 2000 (5 vols.)
Volume 1: Films
Volume 2: Directors/Filmmakers
Volume 3: Actors and Actresses
Volume 4: Writers and Production Artists
Volume 5: Title Index
Rough Guide to Film: An A-Z of Directors and Their Movies.
Print Location: REF PN 1998.2 .R66 2007
Print Location: REF PN 1998.2 .R66 2007
Asian Cinemas: A Reader and Guide
Print Location: General PN 1993.5 .A75 A85 2005
Print Location: General PN 1993.5 .A75 A85 2005
Bent Lens: A World Guide to Gay & Lesbian Film.
Print Location: General PN 1995.9 .H55 B45 1997
Print Location: General PN 1995.9 .H55 B45 1997
British Film Noir Guide.
Print Location: General PN 1995.9 .F54 K427 2008
Print Location: General PN 1995.9 .F54 K427 2008
Cross-cultural Filmmaking: A Handbook for Making Documentary and Ethnographic Films and Videos.
Print Location: General GN 347 .B37 1997
Print Location: General GN 347 .B37 1997
Film and Television: A Guide to the Reference Literature.
Print Location: REF PN 1994 .E56 2006
Print Location: REF PN 1994 .E56 2006
New Guide to Italian Cinema.
Print Location: General PN 1993.5 .I88 C45 2007
Print Location: General PN 1993.5 .I88 C45 2007
Village Voice Film Guide: 50 Years of Movies from Classics to Cult Hits.
Print Location: General PN 1998 .V47 2007
Print Location: General PN 1998 .V47 2007
Writers on the American Screen: A Guide to Film Adaptations of American and Foreign Literary Works.
Print Location: REF PN 1997.85 .l35 1986
Print Location: REF PN 1997.85 .l35 1986
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
75 Years of the Oscar: The Official History of the Academy Awards.
Print Location: REF PN 1993.92 .O82 2003
Print Location: REF PN 1993.92 .O82 2003
British Cinema Book.
Print Location: General PN 1993.5 .G7 B66 2009
Print Location: General PN 1993.5 .G7 B66 2009
Film Review Annual.
Print Location: Ref PN1995 F55
This annual reprints reviews "of full-length films released in major markets in the United States during the course of the year." - Pref. The reviews are arranged by title of film and taken from magazines, journals, and newspapers; the date and page are part of the citation.
Print Location: Ref PN1995 F55
This annual reprints reviews "of full-length films released in major markets in the United States during the course of the year." - Pref. The reviews are arranged by title of film and taken from magazines, journals, and newspapers; the date and page are part of the citation.
Film Review Index.
Print Location: REF PN 1995 .F5 1986 (2 vols.)
Volume 1 covers 1882-1949
Volume 2 covers 1950-1985
Print Location: REF PN 1995 .F5 1986 (2 vols.)
Volume 1 covers 1882-1949
Volume 2 covers 1950-1985
Guide to Critical Reviews.
Print Location: REF PN 2037 .S35
Part 1: American Drama, 1909-1982
Part 2: The Musical, 1909-1989
Part 3: Foreign Drama, !909-1977
Part 4: The Screenplay, from The Jazz Singer to Dr. Strangelove (2 vols.)
Part 4 Supplement: The Screenplay, 1963-1980
Print Location: REF PN 2037 .S35
Part 1: American Drama, 1909-1982
Part 2: The Musical, 1909-1989
Part 3: Foreign Drama, !909-1977
Part 4: The Screenplay, from The Jazz Singer to Dr. Strangelove (2 vols.)
Part 4 Supplement: The Screenplay, 1963-1980
Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema.
Print Location: REF PN 1995.9 .N4 B433 2007
Print Location: REF PN 1995.9 .N4 B433 2007
MaGill's Cinema Annual.
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .M33 1982-2008
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .M33 1982-2008
MaGill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films, First Series.
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .M3 1980 (4 vols.)
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .M3 1980 (4 vols.)
MaGill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films, Second Series.
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .M32 1981 (6 vols.)
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .M32 1981 (6 vols.)
MaGill's Survey of Cinema: Foriegn Language Films.
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .M34 (8 vols)
Print Location: REF PN 1993.45 .M34 (8 vols)
Magill's Survey of Cinema: Silent Films.
Print Location: REF PN 1995.75 .M33 1982 (3 vols.)
Print Location: REF PN 1995.75 .M33 1982 (3 vols.)
Motion Picture Guide.
Print Location: REF PN 1995 .M682 1985-1999
A collection of film reviews with the original 12-volume set published in 1985. Volumes 1-9 cover films released from 1927-1984 and Volume 10 covers silent films, 1910-1936. Remaining two volumes contain indexes to the set. Annual supplements cover films released from 1986 through 1998. Each annual contains a Master Index for all of the MPG Annuals, from actors and actresses to producers, editors, screenwriters, cinematographers, music composers and more. Each annual also contains an obituary section.
Print Location: REF PN 1995 .M682 1985-1999
A collection of film reviews with the original 12-volume set published in 1985. Volumes 1-9 cover films released from 1927-1984 and Volume 10 covers silent films, 1910-1936. Remaining two volumes contain indexes to the set. Annual supplements cover films released from 1986 through 1998. Each annual contains a Master Index for all of the MPG Annuals, from actors and actresses to producers, editors, screenwriters, cinematographers, music composers and more. Each annual also contains an obituary section.
New York Times Film Reviews.
Print Location: Ref PN 1995 N4
About 16,000 reviews appear chronologically in the 1913/68 set; these are reprints of the reviews as they appeared in the newspaper. It is published biennially.
Print Location: Ref PN 1995 N4
About 16,000 reviews appear chronologically in the 1913/68 set; these are reprints of the reviews as they appeared in the newspaper. It is published biennially.
Films on Demand 
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Chrissy Hicks
Research & Instruction
chicks@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4741
Book a RAP session with me
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can: - Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Restricted resource