Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
LitFinder
LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
MLA Bibliography
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Project MUSE
Full-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection. There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches.
Full-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection. There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language.
Print Location: Reference PE1072 .C68 1995
Print Location: Reference PE1072 .C68 1995
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Dictionary of literary biography.
Print Location: Reference PS221 D5 1989
Print Location: Reference PS221 D5 1989
Encyclopedia of folklore and literature.
Print Location: Reference PN41.E48 1998
Print Location: Reference PN41.E48 1998
Facts on File encyclopedia of Word and Phrase Origins
Print Location: Reference PE 1689 H47 2004
Print Location: Reference PE 1689 H47 2004
Literary research guide : an annotated listing of reference sources in English literary studies.
Print Location: Reference PR83 .H27 2002
Print Location: Reference PR83 .H27 2002
Oxford Companion to the English Language
Print Location: Reference PE31 O94 1992
Print Location: Reference PE31 O94 1992
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
CQ Researcher (1991-current year).
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, such as health care reform, immigration, school safety etc.. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include:
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, such as health care reform, immigration, school safety etc.. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include:
- Topic overview
- Historical background
- Pro/con feature
- Resources for additional research
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Zotero
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
1. Getting Started Video – (8 minutes)
2. The Basics: Documentation from Zotero
3. Using Zotero – Guide created by Princeton University Library
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
1. Getting Started Video – (8 minutes)
2. The Basics: Documentation from Zotero
3. Using Zotero – Guide created by Princeton University Library
Chrissy Hicks
Research & Instruction
chicks@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4741
Book a RAP session with me
= Video files
= Audio files