Keyword searching is encouraged for TruSearch and for all of the databases in PIckler Memorial Library.
Use only the keywords you need to search for your topic. Include the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT.
AND will narrow down your search. If you need more results, you can add synonyms to your search with the operator OR such as (college students OR undergraduates). NOT helps you exclude terms you may not be interested in seeing, such as cardinals NOT baseball. Boolean operators should be capitalized in TruSearch but they are not case-sensitive in other databases.
Here is more help for searching on TruSearch - http://library.truman.edu/TruSearch-Help.htm.
Use only the keywords you need to search for your topic. Include the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT.
AND will narrow down your search. If you need more results, you can add synonyms to your search with the operator OR such as (college students OR undergraduates). NOT helps you exclude terms you may not be interested in seeing, such as cardinals NOT baseball. Boolean operators should be capitalized in TruSearch but they are not case-sensitive in other databases.
Here is more help for searching on TruSearch - http://library.truman.edu/TruSearch-Help.htm.
Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Opposing Viewpoints
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.
Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example: "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of the Opposing Viewpoint Series.
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.
Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example: "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of the Opposing Viewpoint Series.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
CQ Researcher (1991-current year).
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, such as health care reform, immigration, school safety etc.. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include:
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, such as health care reform, immigration, school safety etc.. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include:
- Topic overview
- Historical background
- Pro/con feature
- Resources for additional research
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Zotero
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
1. Getting Started Video – (8 minutes)
2. The Basics: Documentation from Zotero
3. Using Zotero – Guide created by Princeton University Library
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
1. Getting Started Video – (8 minutes)
2. The Basics: Documentation from Zotero
3. Using Zotero – Guide created by Princeton University Library
Lisa Vincent
Research & Instruction
glaubitz@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 7412
Tips on Researching and Writing a Paper
RAP sessions are one-on-one consultations with a librarian - use this form to set one up.
Stop in at the Library Service Desk anytime the library is open! No appointment necessary!
Contact the subject librarian in your major for more help with specific topics!
RAP sessions are one-on-one consultations with a librarian - use this form to set one up.
Stop in at the Library Service Desk anytime the library is open! No appointment necessary!
Contact the subject librarian in your major for more help with specific topics!
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files