The purpose of this research guide is to help students navigate the library's website and direct them to relevant databases and specific sources relevant to areas in counseling.
PsycARTICLES 
Full text access to over 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Full text access to over 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
This online reference source, first published in print in 1996, "covers the entire spectrum of psychology including notable people, theories and terms, case studies and experiments" as well as applications of psychology in other fields (medicine, advertising, etc.). You will find entries on applied psychology, clinical psychology, family therapy, internet-based therapy, marriage counseling, mental health, mental illness, and psychosomatic disorders. Specific topics include gaslighting, psychosocial isolation, post-traumatic stress disorder, and crisis intervention. Other features valuable to the researcher include bibliographies and suggested sources, cross-references, glossary, and general index.
This online reference source, first published in print in 1996, "covers the entire spectrum of psychology including notable people, theories and terms, case studies and experiments" as well as applications of psychology in other fields (medicine, advertising, etc.). You will find entries on applied psychology, clinical psychology, family therapy, internet-based therapy, marriage counseling, mental health, mental illness, and psychosomatic disorders. Specific topics include gaslighting, psychosocial isolation, post-traumatic stress disorder, and crisis intervention. Other features valuable to the researcher include bibliographies and suggested sources, cross-references, glossary, and general index.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print, produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print, produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Counseling and Therapy in Video 
Counseling and Therapy in Video contains training videos, reenactments, and footage of actual therapy sessions conducted by renowned counseling professionals. This collection of over 2000 streaming videos provides an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
Counseling and Therapy in Video contains training videos, reenactments, and footage of actual therapy sessions conducted by renowned counseling professionals. This collection of over 2000 streaming videos provides an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
Psychotherapy.net
Psychotherapy.net provides training videos in psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. This collections contains 50 streaming videos that cover a variety of tools and techniques from a broad selection of psychotherapeutic approaches, making it an useful resource for the purposes of teaching, training, self-study, and continuing education in mental health-related fields.
Psychotherapy.net provides training videos in psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. This collections contains 50 streaming videos that cover a variety of tools and techniques from a broad selection of psychotherapeutic approaches, making it an useful resource for the purposes of teaching, training, self-study, and continuing education in mental health-related fields.
Counseling Theories and Techniques for Rehabilitation and Mental Health Professionals
"The purpose of the second edition of this book is to provide state-of-the-art treatment relevant to the dominant theories and techniques of counseling and psychotherapy from a rehabilitation and mental health counseling perspective. In all cases, the chapters were contributed by rehabilitation health professionals and scholars who have special, if not extraordinary, expertise and national visibility in the content areas addressed. . .intended for practitioners as well as upper-level undergraduates and graduate students in clinical rehabilitation counseling and psychology, and in other rehabilitation health care disciplines such as mental health counseling. ." From the Preface
"The purpose of the second edition of this book is to provide state-of-the-art treatment relevant to the dominant theories and techniques of counseling and psychotherapy from a rehabilitation and mental health counseling perspective. In all cases, the chapters were contributed by rehabilitation health professionals and scholars who have special, if not extraordinary, expertise and national visibility in the content areas addressed. . .intended for practitioners as well as upper-level undergraduates and graduate students in clinical rehabilitation counseling and psychology, and in other rehabilitation health care disciplines such as mental health counseling. ." From the Preface
Lisa Vincent
- Research & Instruction
- glaubitz@truman.edu
- (660) 785- 7412
Stephen Wynn
- Associate Dean of Libraries for Technical Services
- swynn@truman.edu
- (660) 785- 4535
- Adolescent Psychology
- Counselor and Client
- Consciousness
- Divorce Counseling
- Drug Abuse Counseling
- Educational Counseling
- People with Disabilities--Psychology
- Rehabilitation Counseling
- Psychology, Applied
- People with Disabilities--Psychology
- Psychology--Dictionaries
- Psychology--Encyclopedias
- Psychology--History
- Men--Psychology
- Psychology--Methodology
- Older People--Psychology
- Psychology, Pathological
- Psychology--Philosophy
- Psychology, Religious
- Psychology--Research
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can: - Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk