Humanities International Complete 
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR 
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
MLA Bibliography 
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Art Full Text
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.
Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.
Essay and General Literature Index,1900-2000.
Print Location: Reference AI 3 E752
A detailed index by author, subject, and some titles to essays published in books.
Print Location: Reference AI 3 E752
A detailed index by author, subject, and some titles to essays published in books.
Ancient writers : Greece and Rome.
Print Location: Reference: PA3002 .A5 1982
Print Location: Reference: PA3002 .A5 1982
Biographical dictionary of ancient Greek and Roman women.
Print Location: Reference: HQ1136 .L54 2000
Print Location: Reference: HQ1136 .L54 2000
Who's Who in Classical Mythology.
Print Location: General Collection BL715.G68 2002
Print Location: General Collection BL715.G68 2002
Who's Who in the Classical World.
Print Location: Reference DE 7.W48 2000
Print Location: Reference DE 7.W48 2000
Who's Who in the Greek World.
Print Location: Reference DE 7.H39 2000
Print Location: Reference DE 7.H39 2000
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity.
Print Location: Reference Atlases G1033.A84 1981
Print Location: Reference Atlases G1033.A84 1981
Battles of the Greek and Roman worlds.
Print Location: Reference D25.A2 M66 2000
Print Location: Reference D25.A2 M66 2000
Cassell Dictionary of Classical Mythology.
Print Location: Reference BL715 M37 1999
Print Location: Reference BL715 M37 1999
Classical Studies: a guide to the reference literature.
Print Location: Reference PA 91 J45 1996
Print Location: Reference PA 91 J45 1996
Crowell's Handbook of Classical Drama.
Print Location: Reference PA 3024. H35
Print Location: Reference PA 3024. H35
Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities.
Print Location: General Collection DE5 S6 1973
Print Location: General Collection DE5 S6 1973
Dictionary of Roman religion.
Print Location: Reference: BL798 .A35 1996
Print Location: Reference: BL798 .A35 1996
Greek and Latin authors, 800 B. C. - A. D. 1000.
Print Location: Reference PA 31 G7
Print Location: Reference PA 31 G7
Greek and Roman architecture.
Print Location: General Collection NA 260 R6 1969
Print Location: General Collection NA 260 R6 1969
Greek-English Lexicon.
Print Location: Reference PA445 E5 L6 1996
Print Location: Reference PA445 E5 L6 1996
Handbook of Greek art.
Print Location: General Collection N 5630 R49 1967
Print Location: General Collection N 5630 R49 1967
Handbook to life in ancient Greece.
Print Location: Reference: DF77 .A35 1997
Print Location: Reference: DF77 .A35 1997
Latin literature : a history.
Print Location: General Collection: PA6008 .C6613 1994
Print Location: General Collection: PA6008 .C6613 1994
Makers of Classical Archaeology.
Print Location: Reference DE9.A1 M43 2000
Print Location: Reference DE9.A1 M43 2000
Morgan-Owens Neo-Latin Lexicon
The Neo-Latin Lexicon is the home of the largest repository Neo-Latin vocabulary culled from literary sources.
The Neo-Latin Lexicon is the home of the largest repository Neo-Latin vocabulary culled from literary sources.
Oxford Classical Dictionary.
Print Location: Reference DE5 .O9 1996
Print Location: Reference DE5 .O9 1996
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature.
Print Location: Reference PA31 H69 1989
Print Location: Reference PA31 H69 1989
Oxford History of Classical Art.
Print Location: General Collection N 5610.O84 1993
Print Location: General Collection N 5610.O84 1993
Oxford Latin Dictionary.
Print Location: Reference PA 2365.E5 O9
Print Location: Reference PA 2365.E5 O9
WorldCat
Combined catalog of thousands of libraries around the world. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within two weeks. This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff. A modified version of WorldCat is also available for free.
Combined catalog of thousands of libraries around the world. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within two weeks. This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff. A modified version of WorldCat is also available for free.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
Dickinson College Commentaries
Latin and Greek texts for reading, with explanatory notes, essays, vocabulary, and graphic, video, and audio elements
Latin and Greek texts for reading, with explanatory notes, essays, vocabulary, and graphic, video, and audio elements
Perseus Project
Extensive digital library of ancient texts, art catalogs, secondary essays, and more.
Extensive digital library of ancient texts, art catalogs, secondary essays, and more.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR) (ISSN 1055-7660) publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology).
Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR) (ISSN 1055-7660) publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology).
Classical and Medieval History
An annotated list of reference web sites developed by the Library of Congress
An annotated list of reference web sites developed by the Library of Congress
Eidolon
Eidolon is an online journal for scholarly writing about Classics that isn’t formal scholarship.
Eidolon is an online journal for scholarly writing about Classics that isn’t formal scholarship.
Theoi Greek Mythology
A site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art. The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.
A site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art. The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.
Richard Pitaniello
Catalog and metadata librarian
rpitaniello@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 7545
The Loeb Classical Library, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies. Click here for a listing of titles from the Loeb Classical Library available in Pickler Memorial Library.
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files
Theater of War Project
Description: Students put on their own (virtual) table reading of a Greek tragedy with a modern audience in mind.
Sources:
Website: Theater of War Productions
Video: Theater of War: The Tecmessa Project
Video: Theater of War: Battling PTSD with Sophocles
Video: Theater of War: Trailer for “The Oedipus Project”
Eidolon: “Do Arrows Kill People or Does Hercules Kill People?”
Eidolon: “’I Am A Virus’: Staging Oedipus During The Pandemic”
Video: Getty Museum Troubies present “The ODDyssey”
Website: Emily Wilson’s “Odyssey-a-Day” – links to short videos
Eidolon Article:
Description: Writing an online-style article that brings together modern and ancient content.
Sources:
Eidolon Journal: https://eidolon.pub/
Description: Students put on their own (virtual) table reading of a Greek tragedy with a modern audience in mind.
Sources:
Website: Theater of War Productions
Video: Theater of War: The Tecmessa Project
Video: Theater of War: Battling PTSD with Sophocles
Video: Theater of War: Trailer for “The Oedipus Project”
Eidolon: “Do Arrows Kill People or Does Hercules Kill People?”
Eidolon: “’I Am A Virus’: Staging Oedipus During The Pandemic”
Video: Getty Museum Troubies present “The ODDyssey”
Website: Emily Wilson’s “Odyssey-a-Day” – links to short videos
Eidolon Article:
Description: Writing an online-style article that brings together modern and ancient content.
Sources:
Eidolon Journal: https://eidolon.pub/