JSTOR 
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years. JSTOR allows you to limit searches by English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, and Spanish language.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years. JSTOR allows you to limit searches by English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, and Spanish language.
MLA Bibliography 
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
ABC Chinese-English comprehensive dictionary: alphabetically based computerized.
Print Location: Reference PL 1455 .A33 2003
Print Location: Reference PL 1455 .A33 2003
Cambridge History of China.
Print Location: General Collection DS735 .C3145
Print Location: General Collection DS735 .C3145
Chronicle of the Chinese emperors : the reign-by-reign record of the rulers of Imperial China.
Print Location: General Collection DS734 .P285 1998
Print Location: General Collection DS734 .P285 1998
Columbia anthology of modern Chinese literature.
Print Location: General Collection PL2658.E1 C64 1995
Print Location: General Collection PL2658.E1 C64 1995
Hsien tai Han Yingtzu tien - A modern Chinese-English dictionary.
Print Location: Reference PL 1455 .H78 1997
Print Location: Reference PL 1455 .H78 1997
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
Electronic Text Center
digital collection of publications in about 12 languages at University of Virginia, part of it is freely accessible
digital collection of publications in about 12 languages at University of Virginia, part of it is freely accessible
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 9,000 foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry.
The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 9,000 foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry.
American Translators Association
ATA is a professional association founded to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters.
ATA is a professional association founded to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters.
Center for Applied Linguistics
a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems
a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems
Center for Language Education and Research at Michigan State University
The Center of Language Education and Research (CLEAR) at Michigan State University was established in 1996 as a Language Resource Center (LRC) through a Title VI grant from the U.S. Department of Education. As an LRC, CLEAR strives to promote and support the teaching and learning of foreign languages in the United States through its various projects and outreach activities.
Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center
The acknowledged leader in all aspects of culturally based foreign language education, DLIFLC is an innovative and continuously adapting organization, operating on the cutting edge of language instruction and technology."
The acknowledged leader in all aspects of culturally based foreign language education, DLIFLC is an innovative and continuously adapting organization, operating on the cutting edge of language instruction and technology."
Lexicool
This web site provides a searchable directory to over 6000 freely available online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries. Searches may be entered by language(s), subject, or title/keyword. Search results provide the number of entries and links to the online dictionaries. The site also provides a directory of translation and interpreting courses, a listing of translator and interpreter associations worldwide, language resources, freeware to download and links to sites for currency conversion, text analysis and language identification. Language-related software and products may be purchased at the website.
This web site provides a searchable directory to over 6000 freely available online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries. Searches may be entered by language(s), subject, or title/keyword. Search results provide the number of entries and links to the online dictionaries. The site also provides a directory of translation and interpreting courses, a listing of translator and interpreter associations worldwide, language resources, freeware to download and links to sites for currency conversion, text analysis and language identification. Language-related software and products may be purchased at the website.
Modern Language Association Language Map
The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.
The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.
Yamada Language Center at the University of Oregon
guide to language resources on the World Wide Web.
guide to language resources on the World Wide Web.
Lisa Vincent
Research & Instruction
glaubitz@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 7412
Book a RAP session with me
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files