Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
Primary Search
Primary Search®, designed specifically for elementary school students contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Primary Search®, designed specifically for elementary school students contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
MLA Bibliography
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Children's Authors and Illustrators: An Index to Biographical dictionaries.
Print Location: Reference Z1037 A1 C463 1995
Print Location: Reference Z1037 A1 C463 1995
Contemporary Authors.
Print Location: Reference PN453 .C614
Print Location: Reference PN453 .C614
Something About the Author.
Print Location: Reference PN451 .S6
Print Location: Reference PN451 .S6
Twentieth Century Children's Writers.
Print Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 T9 1995
Print Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 T9 1995
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Children and books.
Print Location: General Collection PN 1009. A1 S879 1986
Print Location: General Collection PN 1009. A1 S879 1986
Children's literature: an illustrated history.
Print Location: General Collection PR 990 .C495 1995
Print Location: General Collection PR 990 .C495 1995
International companion encyclopedia of children's literature.
Print Location: Reference PN 1008.5 I57 1996
Print Location: Reference PN 1008.5 I57 1996
Research and professional resources in children's literature.
Print Location: General Collection PN 1009 A1 R47 1995
Print Location: General Collection PN 1009 A1 R47 1995
Who's who in children's books.
Print Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 F575
Print Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 F575
World through children's books.
Print Location: General Collection PN 1009 A1 W67 2002
Print Location: General Collection PN 1009 A1 W67 2002
Worlds within: children's fantasy from the Middle Ages to today.
Print Location: General Collection PR 830 F3 E43 1988
Print Location: General Collection PR 830 F3 E43 1988
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
Best books for young adult readers.
Print Location: General Collection Z1037 .C34 2007
Print Location: General Collection Z1037 .C34 2007
Book Review Index
"A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications"
Online version of the print title: Book review index
"A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications"
Online version of the print title: Book review index
Children's Book Review Index.
Print Location: Reference Z1037 A1 C575
Print Location: Reference Z1037 A1 C575
Children's literature awards and winners.
Print Location: Reference PN1009.A1 C545 1994
Print Location: Reference PN1009.A1 C545 1994
Children's Literature Review.
Print Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 C5139
Print Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 C5139
Elementary school library collection.
Print Location: Reference Z1037. E4
Print Location: Reference Z1037. E4
Index to children's plays in collections, 1975-1986.
Print Location: Reference PN 1627.T73 1986
Print Location: Reference PN 1627.T73 1986
Index to children's plays in collections.
Print Location: Reference PN 1627. K7 1977
Print Location: Reference PN 1627. K7 1977
Index to children's songs.
Print Location: General Collection ML128.S3 P 48
Print Location: General Collection ML128.S3 P 48
Index to Fairy Tales.
Print Location: Reference PN 6071 F 15 E37
Print Location: Reference PN 6071 F 15 E37
Index to Poetry for Children and Young People.
Print Location: Reference PN 1023 B72
Print Location: Reference PN 1023 B72
Master index to summaries of children's books.
Print Location: Reference PN1009.A1 P477 1985
Print Location: Reference PN1009.A1 P477 1985
Plays for Children and Young Adults.
Print Location: General Collection PN 1627 K37 1991
Print Location: General Collection PN 1627 K37 1991
Storyteller's sourcebook: a subject, title and motif index to folkore collections for children.
Print Location: Reference GR 74.6 M3 1982
Print Location: Reference GR 74.6 M3 1982
Subject Index to Poetry for Children and young People.
Print Location: Reference PN 1023. A5
Print Location: Reference PN 1023. A5
Book Review Index.
Print Location: Reference Table A Z1219 B59
1965+
This index is arranged by author and title with abbreviated citations to the reviews. About 450 publications are included.
Print Location: Reference Table A Z1219 B59
1965+
This index is arranged by author and title with abbreviated citations to the reviews. About 450 publications are included.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Zotero
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
1. Getting Started Video – (8 minutes)
2. The Basics: Documentation from Zotero
3. Using Zotero – Guide created by Princeton University Library
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
1. Getting Started Video – (8 minutes)
2. The Basics: Documentation from Zotero
3. Using Zotero – Guide created by Princeton University Library
Chrissy Hicks
Research & Instruction
chicks@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4741
Book a RAP session with me
The Library has a large collection of more than 11,000 children's books. Members of the Truman community (faculty, staff, students, administration) may check them out for 30 days, guest borrowers may check them out for 14 days. This JUVENILE COLLECTION is located on the second floor in the Curriculum Library. All of the books are listed in the Library Catalog by author, by title, by keyword and children's subject heading.
The Juvenile Collection has all of the Newbery and Caldecott winners, the Mark Twain Awards, and many others. Here is a list of the Missouri Awards.
The Curriculum Library also contains a collection of textbooks used in the public schools, as well as educational models and games. These are all listed in the Truman's Library Catalog.
= Video files
= Audio files