American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications & Archives 
Searches full text of all ACS journals from 1879 on.
Searches full text of all ACS journals from 1879 on.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a website which provides subscription-based access to a large database of scientific and medical research published by Elsevier. Truman has a very small number of the titles published by Elsevier. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities. Article abstracts are freely available, but access to their full texts (in PDF and, for newer publications, also HTML) generally requires a subscription or pay-per-view purchase. These articles can also be requested on Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
ScienceDirect is a website which provides subscription-based access to a large database of scientific and medical research published by Elsevier. Truman has a very small number of the titles published by Elsevier. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities. Article abstracts are freely available, but access to their full texts (in PDF and, for newer publications, also HTML) generally requires a subscription or pay-per-view purchase. These articles can also be requested on Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
SciFinder-n - Chemical Abstracts, 1907-
SciFinder-n, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is the most comprehensive databases for chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records (and other document types), as well as chemical substances and reactions. You can search by topic, author, and substances by name or CAS Registry Number. It's a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines.
You must first register to use SciFinder-n from a device connected to the Truman network and use your truman.edu email address during the registration process.
Click here: SciFinder-n Registration
Already created your account? Go here: https://scifinder-n.cas.org.
SciFinder-n Training
SciFinder-n is not to be used for commercial purposes and only available to the Truman Community.
Chemical & Engineering News
This is a news magazine for chemists. It has magazine articles about substances and issues in chemistry. It also has excellent related article links.
This is a news magazine for chemists. It has magazine articles about substances and issues in chemistry. It also has excellent related article links.
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Print Location: Reference QD 65 H3 Ed.89 2008/09
Many tables of information. Includes conversion factors, laboratory safety, geology, astronomy and pure mathematics.
Print Location: Reference QD 65 H3 Ed.89 2008/09
Many tables of information. Includes conversion factors, laboratory safety, geology, astronomy and pure mathematics.
KnowledgeDoor
Has constants; conversion factors; mathematical equasions; a periodic table; physical, electronic and thermodynamic properties for all elements-anything form elasticity to interatomic distance and everything in between. Every single piece of information is hyperlinked to a list of full primary or secondary citations.
Has constants; conversion factors; mathematical equasions; a periodic table; physical, electronic and thermodynamic properties for all elements-anything form elasticity to interatomic distance and everything in between. Every single piece of information is hyperlinked to a list of full primary or secondary citations.
PubChem
Provides basic information about chemical substances, particularly drugs. Has a Bioassay Index and a Chemical Structures Search. From the National Library of Medicine.
Provides basic information about chemical substances, particularly drugs. Has a Bioassay Index and a Chemical Structures Search. From the National Library of Medicine.
Sigma-Aldrich Catalog Handbook of Fine Chemicals
This is the catalog for chemicals sold by the Aldrich Chemical Company. It is very large. Each substance has a picture, chemical name, CAS Registry number, molecular formula, some properties, safety information, and some references.
This is the catalog for chemicals sold by the Aldrich Chemical Company. It is very large. Each substance has a picture, chemical name, CAS Registry number, molecular formula, some properties, safety information, and some references.
Abbreviations.com
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 2007.
Print Location: Reference QD 5 .C5 2007
Print Location: Reference QD 5 .C5 2007
Kirk-Othmer Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.
Print Location: Reference TP 9 K54 2007
Presents key information from the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 5th ed. It includes information on the properties, manufacture and uses of chemical and materials; scientific and engineering principles; processes and ane environmental, health and economic concerns.
Print Location: Reference TP 9 K54 2007
Presents key information from the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 5th ed. It includes information on the properties, manufacture and uses of chemical and materials; scientific and engineering principles; processes and ane environmental, health and economic concerns.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.
Print Location: Reference TP 9 E685 1992
Articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. Click here for contents.
Print Location: Reference TP 9 E685 1992
Articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. Click here for contents.
Merck Index.
Print Location: Reference RS 51 M4 2006
Detailed description of 10,500 chemicals, drugs and biological substances. Gives chemical name, CAS registry number, molecular formula, physical properties, references, some structure images, derivative compounds, alternate names, therapeutic uses. There are several special indexes including one for name reactions.
Print Location: Reference RS 51 M4 2006
Detailed description of 10,500 chemicals, drugs and biological substances. Gives chemical name, CAS registry number, molecular formula, physical properties, references, some structure images, derivative compounds, alternate names, therapeutic uses. There are several special indexes including one for name reactions.
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Hazardous Materials
This tells what to do if someone has been exposed to a hazardous material. It has first aid, personal protection and sanitation, respiration rates. It has a topic index and a site search. From the Centers for Disease Control.
This tells what to do if someone has been exposed to a hazardous material. It has first aid, personal protection and sanitation, respiration rates. It has a topic index and a site search. From the Centers for Disease Control.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science.gov 
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network
An index to several federal publications on toxic substances including: Toxic Literature Online; Hazardous Substances Databank; Toxics Release Inventory; Environmental Health eMaps. From the National Library of Medicine.
An index to several federal publications on toxic substances including: Toxic Literature Online; Hazardous Substances Databank; Toxics Release Inventory; Environmental Health eMaps. From the National Library of Medicine.
NIST Webbook
The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
Chemistry Laboratory-Truman State University
This useful manual describes the chemistry class laboratories for Truman State University. It includes how to set up equipment.
This useful manual describes the chemistry class laboratories for Truman State University. It includes how to set up equipment.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Chrissy Hicks
Research & Instruction
chicks@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4741
Book a RAP session with me
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4533
- Come to the Library Service Desk
- QD 1 - QD 999 Chemistry
- Q 141 Scientists - Biography
- Chemists - Biography
= Restricted resource
= Video files