Biological Abstracts 
Bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. Covers 1969-2018.
BioOne 
BioOne Complete is BioOne's aggregation of more than 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
BioOne Complete is BioOne's aggregation of more than 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Gale in Context : Environmental Studies
Gale in Context : Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR) is an electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
Gale in Context : Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR) is an electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
Gardening/Landscape & Horticulture Collection
Serves horticultural enthusiasts of all levels with more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles.
Serves horticultural enthusiasts of all levels with more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Greenfile
GreenFILE is a welcome addition with its clear message of 'focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.' With the emphasis on the 'connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology,' it is a perfect fit for the liberal arts campus.
GreenFILE is a welcome addition with its clear message of 'focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.' With the emphasis on the 'connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology,' it is a perfect fit for the liberal arts campus.
Index to American Botanical Literature
A searchable database of American botanical literature from late 1995 to present. Search by subject category (eg. algae, fungi, etc.), author, article title, journal name, publisher, and keywords. New York Botanical Garden. Free to the public.
A searchable database of American botanical literature from late 1995 to present. Search by subject category (eg. algae, fungi, etc.), author, article title, journal name, publisher, and keywords. New York Botanical Garden. Free to the public.
Invasive Species Compendium
Detailed coverage of invasive species threatening livelihoods and environment worldwide.
Detailed coverage of invasive species threatening livelihoods and environment worldwide.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Abbreviations.com
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology
An easy-to-use reference source covering the full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology.
An easy-to-use reference source covering the full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of Psychoactive Plants.
Print Location: Reference QK 99 A1 R2813 2005
Print Location: Reference QK 99 A1 R2813 2005
Flora of North America North of Mexico.
Print Location: General Collection QK 110 F55 1993
Print Location: General Collection QK 110 F55 1993
Oxford Dictionary of Plant Sciences.
Print Location: Reference QK 9 D52 2006
Print Location: Reference QK 9 D52 2006
Plants Database
Produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service, this site is meant to serve as a central location for plant information presentated in a standardized format. It includes vascular plants (ferns, gymnosperms such as conifers, and flowering plants), mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens.
Produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service, this site is meant to serve as a central location for plant information presentated in a standardized format. It includes vascular plants (ferns, gymnosperms such as conifers, and flowering plants), mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Steyermark's Flora of Missouri.
Print Location: General Collection QK 170 Y38 1999
Print Location: General Collection QK 170 Y38 1999
Toxic Plants of North America.
Print Location: Reference QK 100 N6 B87 2001
Print Location: Reference QK 100 N6 B87 2001
Edible Wild Plants: a North American Field Guide
Print Location: General Collection QK 98.5 U6 E35
Print Location: General Collection QK 98.5 U6 E35
Field Guide to Eastern Trees: Eastern United States and Canada
Print Location: General Collection QK 115 P46 1998
Print Location: General Collection QK 115 P46 1998
Field Guide to Medicinal Plants and Herbs of Eastern and Central North America.
Print Location: General Collection QK 99 U6 F68 2000
Print Location: General Collection QK 99 U6 F68 2000
Field Guide to Western Trees: Western United States and Canada.
Print Location: General Collection QK 133 P43 1998
Print Location: General Collection QK 133 P43 1998
Missouri Wildflowers.
Print Location: General Collection QK 170 D45 2008
Print Location: General Collection QK 170 D45 2008
Mushrooms of North America in Color: a Field Guide Companion to Seldom Illustrated Fungi.
Print Location: General Collection QK 617 M84 1995
Print Location: General Collection QK 617 M84 1995
National Wildlife Federation Field Guide to Wildflowers of North America
Print Location: General Collection QK 110 B73 2010
Print Location: General Collection QK 110 B73 2010
North American Guide to Common Poisonous Plants and Mushrooms
Print Location: QK 100 N6 T87 2009
Print Location: QK 100 N6 T87 2009
Poisonous Plants.
Print Location: General Collection QK 100 A1 F7613 2005
Print Location: General Collection QK 100 A1 F7613 2005
Wild Edibles of Missouri.
Print Location: General Collection QK 98.5 M8 P48 1998
Print Location: General Collection QK 98.5 M8 P48 1998
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Deals with the critical area of energy, helps develop mineral resources in an environmentally safe manner, protects Missouri's land, air and water resources and works to preserve the state's historic and natural heritage through state parks and state historic sites.
Deals with the critical area of energy, helps develop mineral resources in an environmentally safe manner, protects Missouri's land, air and water resources and works to preserve the state's historic and natural heritage through state parks and state historic sites.
Science.gov 
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
International Plant Science Center: the New York Botanical Garden
The International Plant Science Center: New York Botanical Garden is a welll organized page. The main page is divided into three major sections, Collections, Research and Resources. Collections section includes links to the Steere Herbarium and The C.V. Starr Virtual Herbarium. The virtual herbarium offers a wealth of information including project information specimen lists, and a searchable specimen catalog. There are Flash presentations on selected topics. The Resources section offers access to the NYBG's Index Herbariorum, a searchable database of nearly 4,000 public herbaria and 10,000 specialists/professionals.
The International Plant Science Center: New York Botanical Garden is a welll organized page. The main page is divided into three major sections, Collections, Research and Resources. Collections section includes links to the Steere Herbarium and The C.V. Starr Virtual Herbarium. The virtual herbarium offers a wealth of information including project information specimen lists, and a searchable specimen catalog. There are Flash presentations on selected topics. The Resources section offers access to the NYBG's Index Herbariorum, a searchable database of nearly 4,000 public herbaria and 10,000 specialists/professionals.
Tropicos
This site provides access to the Missouri Botanical Garden's VAST (VAScular Tropicos) nomenclatureal database and associated authority files.
This site provides access to the Missouri Botanical Garden's VAST (VAScular Tropicos) nomenclatureal database and associated authority files.
Dan McGurk
Research & Instruction
dmcgurk@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4528
Book a RAP session with me
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Restricted resource
= Video files