Biological Abstracts 
Bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. Covers 1969-2018.
BioOne 
BioOne Complete is BioOne's aggregation of more than 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
BioOne Complete is BioOne's aggregation of more than 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Gale in Context : Environmental Studies
Gale in Context : Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR) is an electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
Gale in Context : Environmental Studies (formerly GREENR) is an electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
Greenfile
GreenFILE is a welcome addition with its clear message of 'focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.' With the emphasis on the 'connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology,' it is a perfect fit for the liberal arts campus.
GreenFILE is a welcome addition with its clear message of 'focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.' With the emphasis on the 'connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology,' it is a perfect fit for the liberal arts campus.
Invasive Species Compendium
Detailed coverage of invasive species threatening livelihoods and environment worldwide.
Detailed coverage of invasive species threatening livelihoods and environment worldwide.
MedLine, 1950+
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Medline is also available on FirstSearch.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a website which provides subscription-based access to a large database of scientific and medical research published by Elsevier. Truman has a very small number of the titles published by Elsevier. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities. Article abstracts are freely available, but access to their full texts (in PDF and, for newer publications, also HTML) generally requires a subscription or pay-per-view purchase. These articles can also be requested on Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
ScienceDirect is a website which provides subscription-based access to a large database of scientific and medical research published by Elsevier. Truman has a very small number of the titles published by Elsevier. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities. Article abstracts are freely available, but access to their full texts (in PDF and, for newer publications, also HTML) generally requires a subscription or pay-per-view purchase. These articles can also be requested on Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Particularly useful for ecology, botany and history of science. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Particularly useful for ecology, botany and history of science. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
PrimateLit, 1940+
A bibliographic database of book and periodical citations on any topic involving primates, from paleontology through field and lab behavior to medical research.
A bibliographic database of book and periodical citations on any topic involving primates, from paleontology through field and lab behavior to medical research.
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Abbreviations.com
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
All about Birds-Bird Guide 
Bird identification guide complete with physical characteristics, behavior, habitat, sound and video.
Bird identification guide complete with physical characteristics, behavior, habitat, sound and video.
Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology, 2nd ed.
Print Location: Reference QR 81 B46 2001
Very detailed descriptions of bacteria. Arranged according to procaryotic taxonomy. Vol. 1 is The Archaea and the Deeply Branching and Phototrophic Bacteria. Vol. 2 is The Proteobacteria Vol. 3 is The Firmicutes. Vol. 4 is The Bacteroidetes, Planctomycetes, Chlamydiae, Spirochetes, Fibrobacteres, Fusobacteria, Acidobacteria, Verrucomicrobia, Dictyoglomi, and Gemmatimonadetes. Vol. 5 will be The Actinobacteria when it is published. Check contents here.
Print Location: Reference QR 81 B46 2001
Very detailed descriptions of bacteria. Arranged according to procaryotic taxonomy. Vol. 1 is The Archaea and the Deeply Branching and Phototrophic Bacteria. Vol. 2 is The Proteobacteria Vol. 3 is The Firmicutes. Vol. 4 is The Bacteroidetes, Planctomycetes, Chlamydiae, Spirochetes, Fibrobacteres, Fusobacteria, Acidobacteria, Verrucomicrobia, Dictyoglomi, and Gemmatimonadetes. Vol. 5 will be The Actinobacteria when it is published. Check contents here.
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Iowa State Entomology Index of Internet Resources
The directory and search engine of insect-related resources on the Internet.
The directory and search engine of insect-related resources on the Internet.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
GPO Catalog of Government Publications
Covers all types of U.S. government documents. Indexes government documents printed by the U.S. Government Printing Office since July 1976; documents include Congressional committee hearings, congressional debates and records, judicial material, documents issued by departments such as Defense, State, Labor, and the Office of the President. Also includes links to Federal agency online resources.
Covers all types of U.S. government documents. Indexes government documents printed by the U.S. Government Printing Office since July 1976; documents include Congressional committee hearings, congressional debates and records, judicial material, documents issued by departments such as Defense, State, Labor, and the Office of the President. Also includes links to Federal agency online resources.
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Deals with the critical area of energy, helps develop mineral resources in an environmentally safe manner, protects Missouri's land, air and water resources and works to preserve the state's historic and natural heritage through state parks and state historic sites.
Deals with the critical area of energy, helps develop mineral resources in an environmentally safe manner, protects Missouri's land, air and water resources and works to preserve the state's historic and natural heritage through state parks and state historic sites.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Films on Demand 
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
BioEd Online: Biology Teacher Resources from Baylor College of Medicine
This is an online magazine for biology teachers from kindergarten on up. It has articles on hot topics, presentations, slide sets and classroom activities.
This is an online magazine for biology teachers from kindergarten on up. It has articles on hot topics, presentations, slide sets and classroom activities.
Dan McGurk
Research & Instruction
dmcgurk@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4528
Book a RAP session with me
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
- QH 1 - QH 705.5 Natural History
- QK 1 - QK 989 Botany
- QL 1- QL 991 Zoology
- QM 1- QM 695 Human Anatomy
- QP 1 - QP 981 Physiology
- QR 1 - QR 502 Microbiology
- Q 141 Scientists - Biography
- Biologists - Biography
= Restricted resource