America: History and Life 
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Art Full Text 
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Humanities International Complete
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Academic Search Complete 
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Articles & Research Databases - Subject List
Use the Library's Articles & Research Databases page to find other sources and databases in relevant disciplines
Use the Library's Articles & Research Databases page to find other sources and databases in relevant disciplines
Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Dictionary of Art. (Grove Dictionary of Art)
Print Location: Reference N 31 D5 1996
This 34 volume set covers all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, and the decorative arts. It includes articles on visual art from the prehistoric times to the present, biographies of artists, and 15,350 illustrations. Coverage is worldwide in scope--from Oceania to North America to Japan and Africa.
Print Location: Reference N 31 D5 1996
This 34 volume set covers all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, and the decorative arts. It includes articles on visual art from the prehistoric times to the present, biographies of artists, and 15,350 illustrations. Coverage is worldwide in scope--from Oceania to North America to Japan and Africa.
Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art -
Print Location: Reference N6370 .G76 2009
Print Location: Reference N6370 .G76 2009
Encyclopedia of World Art.
Print Location: Reference N 31 E4833
Print Location: Reference N 31 E4833
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
America's Historical Imprints
Digital collection of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1670-1819
Includes:
Digital collection of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1670-1819
Includes:
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800;
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819;
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819
Artists on Art from the XIV to the XX Century.
Print Location: Reference N 7452 G64 1958
Print Location: Reference N 7452 G64 1958
Documents of 20th Century Art.
Print Location: General Collection-see link below for call numbers
Collection of volumes giving primary sources relating to 20th century art. In the LibraryCatalog, a search on this title will find a list of the books in the series. Some of the authors included are: Guillaume Apollinaire, Jean Arp, Umbro Apollonio, Daniel Kahnweiler, Jacques Lipchitz, Robert and Sonia Delaunay, and Pablo Picasso.
Print Location: General Collection-see link below for call numbers
Collection of volumes giving primary sources relating to 20th century art. In the LibraryCatalog, a search on this title will find a list of the books in the series. Some of the authors included are: Guillaume Apollinaire, Jean Arp, Umbro Apollonio, Daniel Kahnweiler, Jacques Lipchitz, Robert and Sonia Delaunay, and Pablo Picasso.
Lives of the Artist.
Print Location: Reference N 6922 V2213 1991
Written by Vasari (1511-1574)
Print Location: Reference N 6922 V2213 1991
Written by Vasari (1511-1574)
Smithsonian Archive of American Art
A digitized collection of papers of artists and other archival material from the Archives of American Art including letters, postcards, sketches, exhibition records, diaries, and other unique documents. The collection also includes transcripts of interviews with artists, collectors, gallery directors, and art historians.
A digitized collection of papers of artists and other archival material from the Archives of American Art including letters, postcards, sketches, exhibition records, diaries, and other unique documents. The collection also includes transcripts of interviews with artists, collectors, gallery directors, and art historians.
Twentieth-century artists on art : an index to artists' writings, statements, and interviews.
Print Location: Reference NX 456 R59 1996
Print Location: Reference NX 456 R59 1996
MetPublications
MetPublications is a portal tothe Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive publishing program. Beginning with nearly 650 titles published from 1964 to the present, this resource will continue to expand and could eventually offer access to nearly all books, Bulletins, and Journals published by the Metropolitan Museum since the Met's founding in 1870. It will also include online publications.
MetPublications is a portal tothe Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive publishing program. Beginning with nearly 650 titles published from 1964 to the present, this resource will continue to expand and could eventually offer access to nearly all books, Bulletins, and Journals published by the Metropolitan Museum since the Met's founding in 1870. It will also include online publications.
MetPublications includes a description and table of contents for almost every title, as well as information about the authors, reviews, awards, and links to related Met bibliographies by author, theme, or keyword. Current titles that are in-print may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book. The full contents of almost all other titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF, at no cost. Books can be previewed or read and searched through the Google Books program. Many out-of-print books are available for purchase, when rights permit, through print-on-demand capabilities in association with Yale University Press.
World History in Context
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.
Cross searchable with U.S. History In Context
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.
Cross searchable with U.S. History In Context
World Painting Index.
Print Location: Reference ND45 H38
Used for locating reproductions of paintings in books and catalogs by artists from around the world.
Print Location: Reference ND45 H38
Used for locating reproductions of paintings in books and catalogs by artists from around the world.
Films on Demand 
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more.
Art History Resources on the Web
Links are arranged by time periods, Prehistoric to 20th Century. This site is maintained by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe Professor, Department of Art History, Sweet Briar College.
Links are arranged by time periods, Prehistoric to 20th Century. This site is maintained by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe Professor, Department of Art History, Sweet Briar College.
Getty Research Institute
Portal to the Getty Research Institute's search tools and databases, including their library catalog, research guides and digital collections.
Some resources on this site are restricted to those affliated with the Getty Institute and are not freely avaialbe to the general public.
Portal to the Getty Research Institute's search tools and databases, including their library catalog, research guides and digital collections.
Some resources on this site are restricted to those affliated with the Getty Institute and are not freely avaialbe to the general public.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Besides information on their collections you will find two useful sections, Explore & Learn and Timeline of Art History.
Besides information on their collections you will find two useful sections, Explore & Learn and Timeline of Art History.
Janet Romine
Dean of Libraries and Museums
jiromine@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 7418
Book a RAP session with me
For details about what you can checkout, how to renew items, and more... Visit the page linked below:
Check the Primary Sources page for tips on finding primary sources in the library's collections.
Zotero is a free tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
1. Getting Started Video – (8 minutes)
2. The Basics: Documentation from Zotero
3. Using Zotero – Guide created by Princeton University Library
1. Getting Started Video – (8 minutes)
2. The Basics: Documentation from Zotero
3. Using Zotero – Guide created by Princeton University Library
= Restricted resource