AGRICOLA, 1970+ 
On the Web through the National Agricultural Library. Free site.
This database covers every major agricultural subject.
On the Web through the National Agricultural Library. Free site.
This database covers every major agricultural subject.
Agriculture Collection
Provides a comprehensive view of current and authoritative periodical content that spans the agriculture industry--from practical aspects of farming to scientific research in horticulture.
Provides a comprehensive view of current and authoritative periodical content that spans the agriculture industry--from practical aspects of farming to scientific research in horticulture.
AGRIS: Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This UN FAO-based Web site was developed in 1974 and treats all aspects of agriculture. There are 199 national organizations that contribute to the site and they add approximately 14,000 items per month.
This UN FAO-based Web site was developed in 1974 and treats all aspects of agriculture. There are 199 national organizations that contribute to the site and they add approximately 14,000 items per month.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Invasive Species Compendium
Detailed coverage of invasive species threatening livelihoods and environment worldwide.
Detailed coverage of invasive species threatening livelihoods and environment worldwide.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a website which provides subscription-based access to a large database of scientific and medical research published by Elsevier. Truman has a very small number of the titles published by Elsevier. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities. Article abstracts are freely available, but access to their full texts (in PDF and, for newer publications, also HTML) generally requires a subscription or pay-per-view purchase. These articles can also be requested on Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
ScienceDirect is a website which provides subscription-based access to a large database of scientific and medical research published by Elsevier. Truman has a very small number of the titles published by Elsevier. The journals are grouped into four main sections: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities. Article abstracts are freely available, but access to their full texts (in PDF and, for newer publications, also HTML) generally requires a subscription or pay-per-view purchase. These articles can also be requested on Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
JSTOR 
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
AgClimate View
Customized historical climate and crop yield data for the U.S. Corn Belt. View graphs of monthly temperature and precipitation, plot corn and soybean yield trends, and compare climate and yields over the past 30 years.
Customized historical climate and crop yield data for the U.S. Corn Belt. View graphs of monthly temperature and precipitation, plot corn and soybean yield trends, and compare climate and yields over the past 30 years.
Agricultural Productivity in the U.S.
From the USDA/ERS. Scroll down to the list of available tables -including crops, livestock, labor, land, chemicals and state rankings.
From the USDA/ERS. Scroll down to the list of available tables -including crops, livestock, labor, land, chemicals and state rankings.
Agricultural Statistics
Published annually by USDA includes statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Published annually by USDA includes statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Census of Agriculture
is now taken every five years, and provides statistics by state, county and zip code. Optional access for Older years (courtesy of Cornell University).
is now taken every five years, and provides statistics by state, county and zip code. Optional access for Older years (courtesy of Cornell University).
FAOSTAT
Provides access to international data from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Provides access to international data from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Food Access Research Atlas
- Presents a spatial overview of food access indicators for low-income and other census tracts using different measures of supermarket accessibility;
- Provides food access data for populations within census tracts; and
- Offers census-tract-level data on food access that can be downloaded for community planning or research purposes.
QuickStats
Query the Census of Agriculture dtabase to retrieve customized tables with Census data at the national, state and county levels as far back as 1997.
Query the Census of Agriculture dtabase to retrieve customized tables with Census data at the national, state and county levels as far back as 1997.
Abbreviations.com
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Credo Reference
Over 360 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches in the Truman catalog and other library resources. Includes the Complete Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology and the Handbook of Vegetable Pests
Over 360 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches in the Truman catalog and other library resources. Includes the Complete Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology and the Handbook of Vegetable Pests
Dictionary of Agricultural and Environmental Science.
Print Location: Reference S 411 T76 2003
Print Location: Reference S 411 T76 2003
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
GPO Catalog of Government Publications
Covers all types of U.S. government documents. Indexes government documents printed by the U.S. Government Printing Office since July 1976; documents include Congressional committee hearings, congressional debates and records, judicial material, documents issued by departments such as Defense, State, Labor, and the Office of the President. Also includes links to Federal agency online resources.
Covers all types of U.S. government documents. Indexes government documents printed by the U.S. Government Printing Office since July 1976; documents include Congressional committee hearings, congressional debates and records, judicial material, documents issued by departments such as Defense, State, Labor, and the Office of the President. Also includes links to Federal agency online resources.
Science.gov 
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
University of Missouri Extension
MU Extension publishes a wide range of research-based information that can help you make informed decisions to improve your life at home and work.
MU Extension publishes a wide range of research-based information that can help you make informed decisions to improve your life at home and work.
Citation and Writing Guides
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Dan McGurk
Research & Instruction
dmcgurk@truman.edu
Tel: (660) 785- 4528
Book a RAP session with me
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Restricted resource
= Video files